Warner and Marsh rested for Sri Lanka T20Is

Sri Lanka Tour of Australia 2022


Key players from Australia’s T20 World Cup winning side, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh are to miss the 5-match T20 series against the visiting Sri Lankans which begins on the 11th of February.

Head Coach Justin Langer will also sit out the series, with Assistant Coach Andrew McDonald set to take the reins. The trio are said to be rested in preparation for Australia’s three-format tour of Pakistan in March.

Of the triumphant Australian T20 World Cup squad, Marsh, Warner and Mitchell Swepson will miss the T20Is against Sri Lanka. Their replacements will be Ben McDermott, Travis Head, Jhye Richardson and Moises Henriques.

3 reserve players at the World Cup, Daniel Sams, Nathan Ellis and Dan Christian, also miss out on the series.

Australia T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Inglis, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa