Sandakan, Dinusha help Team Dambulla continue their dream run

National Super League 2023


Team Dambulla continued their dream run in National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2023 as they recorded their sixth win of the tournament today (30th March).

Team Dambulla beat Team Kandy by 1 wicket in the 15th match of the NSL 50-Over Tournament played today at Kandy R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

Kandy skipper Niroshan Dickwella won the toss for the second consecutive time in the tournament and chose to bat first. Oshada Fernando and Lahiru Udara stroked fine half-centuries as they managed to post 239 on the board.

The chinaman bowler Lakshan Sandakan was the pick of the bowlers for Team Dambulla as he grabbed 4 wickets for 37 runs.

Team Dambulla managed to chase down the target, but the game went down to the wire as they crossed the line in the penultimate over of the match with only 1 wicket in hand. Sonal Dinusha was the star with the bat for the victorious Team Dambulla as he played a match-winning half-century.

Team Colombo registered a convincing 71-run win over Team Galle in the 16th match of the NSL 50-Over Tournament played today at SSC Grounds.

Batting first, Team Colombo posted 225 runs on the board thanks to the major contributions of Sachitha Jayathilake (58), Dushan Vimukthi (46) and Sithara Gimhana (44). Milan Rathnayake continued to impress with the ball for Team Galle, picking up his 2nd consecutive 4-wicket haul in the tournament.

In reply, Team Galle was bowled out for 154 runs as Nuwan Pradeep and Dushan Vimukthi ripped through their batting lineup sharing 6 wickets between them.

Brief Scores

Team Kandy 239 (47.1) Oshada Fernando 76, Lahiru Udara 52, Ahan Wickramasinghe 23, Asel Sigera 23, Pulina Tharanga 20, Lakshan Sandakan 4/37, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/24, Sonal Dinusha 2/32

Team Dambulla 240/9 (48.5) Sonal Dinusha 53, Dushan Hemantha 37, Pavan Rathnayake 34, Kamindu Mendis 26, Ashan Priyanjan 24, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 21, Ashian Daniel 3/39, Movin Subasinghe 3/46

Result – Team Dambulla won by 1 wicket

Team Colombo – 225 (48) Sachitha Jayathilake 58, Dushan Vimukthi 46, Sithara Gimhana 44, Milan Rathnayake 4/37, Thilanga Udeshan 2/45, Kavishka Anjula 2/54

Team Galle – 154 (39.4) Akila Dananjaya 27, Suminda Lakshan 26, Pathum Kumara 22, Kavishka Anjula 21, Nuwan Pradeep 3/31, Dushan Vimukthi 3/34, Udith Madushan 2/15

Result – Team Colombo won by 71 runs