Nalanda stun Thora; Joes control Richmond


Four pre quarter finals in the Singer Schools U-19 Division 1 two-day cricket tournament 2017/18 were conducted today around the island. 

S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia vs Nalanda College, Colombo

Nalanda College recorded a first innings win over S. Thomas’ College today at S. Thomas’ College grounds in Mount Lavinia and qualified for the quarter finals of U-19 Division 1 two day cricket tournament. After being 31 runs for 3 wickets overnight, Nalanda College batsmen batted really well to post 262 runs for 8 wickets and take first innings points. Chamindu Wijesinghe (79) and Raveen de Silva (63*) played key roles with the bat in Nalanda’s stunning victory.

Brief scores

S. Thomas’ College 254/9d (82.2) Sithara Hapuhinna 76, Maneesha Rupasinghe 51, Shalin de Mel 40, Lakshitha Rasanjana 6/67, Raveen de Silva 2/43

Nalanda College 262/8 (90) Chamindu Wijesinghe 79, Raveen de Silva 63*, Lakshitha Rasanjana 39, Dilhara Polgampola 28, Thevin Eriyagama 2/35, Dellon Peiris 2/58, Kalana Perera 2/60

Result – Match Drawn (Nalanda College won first innings points)

St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa vs Maris Stella College, Negombo

St. Sebastian’s College defeated Maris Stella today at Kadirana grounds and qualified for the quarter finals of U-19 Division 1 two day cricket tournament. After being 210 runs for 4 wickets overnight, the visitors managed to post 347 runs on the board for their first innings. Left handed stroke maker Nishitha Abilash top scored with 92 runs while right handed batsman Nuwanidu Fernando contributed with a valuable 79 runs.

Skipper Lasith Croospulle and Ravindu Fernando picked up 3 wickets each for hosts. Lads from Negombo showed a much better batting display in the second innings scoring 256 runs for 2 wickets. Skipper Lasith Croospulle stroked an unbeaten 154 runs while Kevin Perera supported him with a valuable 67 runs not out.

Brief scores

Maris Stella College 201 (51.2) Maneesha Silva 48, Naveen Fernando 33, Pasindu Ushetti 28*, Roshen Fernando 26, Kevin Perera 24, Praveen Jayawickrama 5/64, Praveen Cooray 3/41 & 256/2 (59) Lasith Croospulle 154*, Kevin Perera 67*

St. Sebastian’s College 347 (95.1) Nishitha Abilash 92, Nuwanidu Fernando 79, Janishka Perera 37, Praveen Cooray 34, Tharusha Fernando 30, Lasith Croospulle 3/39, Ravindu Fernando 3/118

Result – Match Drawn (St. Sebastian’s College won first innings points)

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo

The pre-quarter final between Prince of Wales College and D.S. Senanayake College commenced today at Prince of Wales College grounds. After being put into bat, the Cambrians posted a mammoth score of 342 runs for their first innings. Dashing left hander Vishwa Chathuranga stroked a magnificent century for the hosts. In reply, D.S batsmen were struggling at 56 runs for 6 wickets when umpires called stumps on day one.

Brief scores

Prince of Wales College 342 (72.2) Vishwa Chathuranga 100, Devaka Peiris 47, Prince Fernando 45, Sandun Fernando 35, Vinuja Ranpul 30, Suwath Mendis 27, Sachintha Hettige 3/90, Dasun Perera 2/31, Methushan Thilina 2/57, Muditha Lakshan 2/62

D.S. Senanayake College 56/6 (20)

Richmond College, Galle vs St. Joseph’s College, Colombo

The pre-quarter final between Richmond College and St. Joseph’s College commenced today at Galle International Cricket Stadium. Hosts’ skipper Kamindu Mendis decided to bat first and posted 216 runs all out for their first innings. Right handed Thaveesha Abishek top scored for Richmond with 78 runs while left arm spinner Dunith Wellalage picked up 4 wickets for 65 runs for Joes.

In reply, Josephians finished day one strongly with a score of 118 runs for 3 wickets. Shevaan Rasool (60) and Jehan Daniel (36) remained unbeaten at the close of play.

Brief scores

Richmond College 216 (65.3) Thaveesha Abishek 78, Sandun Mendis 33, Adithya Siriwardane 33, Dananjaya Lakshan 27, Dunith Wellalage 4/65, Miranga Wickramage 3/28, Ashain Daniel 2/48

St. Joseph’s College 118/3 (38) Shevaan Rasool 60*, Jehan Daniel 36*, Avindu Theekshana 2/23