Maliban win a cliffhanger to lift the trophy


Maliban Biscuit Pvt. Ltd. managed to hold their nerve to win a thriller against Nawaloka by 6 runs to lift the Munchee MCA Div D 40-over Cricket Championship at MCA grounds. 

After winning the toss, Maliban decided to bat first. They failed to complete their quota of 40 overs as they were bowled out for 205 with 3 balls to spare. Three batsmen stood out for them, Nethminda Perera top scored with 52 and he was the only half centurion in the match. 

Read More : Trinity tops the chart with 6 wins; returning Antonians finish with 5

Apart from Nethminda, Dilum Fernando and Chathuranga Devapriya chipped in with valuable cameos. Tharinda Suraj was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3 for 24 while Thiwanka Kekulawala bagged 3 wickets and Samila Nadeesh took 2 for 44. 

Photos : Nawaloka Hospitals Vs Maliban Biscuits | Munchee Mercantile Cricket “D” Division 2020 – Finals

In response, Nawaloka were in the game right until the end. Kekulawala who bagged 3 wickets earlier was the highest run scorer with 48. He got good support from Sanka Poorna and Tharindu Suraj who scored 47 and 36 respectively. 

The game went until the last over but, Nawaloka lost their last wicket in the 3rd ball of the 40th over with them still being 6 runs short. Venura Gayashan was the pick of the bowlers from both the teams taking 5 wickets while Dilan Chathuranga bagged 2 wickets. 

Maliban Pvt. Ltd. 205 (39.3) Nethminda Perera 52, Dilum Fernando 38, Chathuranga Devapriya 37, Tharindu Suraj 3/24, Thiwanka Kekulawala 3/31, Samila Nadeesh 2/44 


Nawaloka 199 (39.3) Thiwanka Kekulawala 48, Sanka Poorna 47, Tharindu Suraj 36, Venura Gayashan 5/45, Dilan Chathuranga 2/23