Mahanama & Lumbini Surprise quarter-finalists in Under-14 tens


Mahanama College and Lumbini College stunned rivals and group favorites Zahira College and St. Anthony’s College as they booked their Cup quarter-final spots on day one. St. Peter’s, Trinity, Wesley, Royal, Isipathana and St. Joseph’s were the other group leaders to make their way into the Cup quarters, in the Under-14 Ten-a-side rugby tournament played at Sugathadasa Stadium Colombo.

Thirty teams divided into 6 groups of 4, and 2 groups of 3 took the field on day one as the junior rugby season intensified.

The first group of three saw St. Peter’s College winning ‘group A’ as the kids from Bambalapitiya defeated Nalanda and Kingswood successfully, with the 4th team S. Thomas’ Matale not present at the tournament.

Kingswood College190Nalanda College
St. Peter’s College450Nalanda College
St. Peter’s College367Kingwood College


Mahanama College were the surprise package in ‘group B’, as the youngsters managed to get the better out of Carey and Ananda, and also defeating Zahira by a slender 3 point margin to win the group and book a Cup quarter-final spot.

Mahanama College150Ananda College
Zahira College270Carey College
Mahanama College1512Zahira College
Ananda College260Carey College
Mahanama College340Carey College
Zahira College268Ananda College

The second group of three, ‘group C’ saw Trinity College score a last gasp winner, beating Dharmaraja College to book their Cup quarter-final berth. They also won over St. Benedict’s, leaving fellow Kandy lads Rajans heart broken. St. Aloysius College was the team not present in this group and each team played just two games on the day.

Trinity College240St. Benedict’s College
Dharmaraja College2716St. Benedict’s College
Dharmaraja College1217Trinity College

‘Group D’ witnessed the favorites from Kandy, St. Anthony’s College face a tough defeat at the hands of Lumbini College who held on for a 5-point win, taking a surprise top spot in the group.

Lumbini College50Sylvester’s College
St. Anthony’s College290Sylvester’s College
Lumbini College390CWW Kannangara
Lumbini College105St. Anthony’s College
CWW Kannangara019Sylvester’s College

Wesley College cruised past Prince of Wales, Piliyandala Central, and Sumangala College Kandy as the Les-Blues won ‘group E’ with ease, taking out the 6th Cup quarter-final place.

Wesley College190Sumangala College
Prince of Wales107Piliyandala Central
Wesley College190Piliyandala Central
Prince of Wales510Sumangala College
Wesley College260Prince of Wales
Piliyandala Central120Prince of Wales

Royal College were pushed by Vidyartha College who fought hard till the final whistle. However Vidyartha failed to breach the usually strong Royal defensive wall, and the lads from Kandy had to be satisfied for second spot in ‘group F’, while Royal won the group.

Royal College360Lalith Athulathmudali
Vidyartha College370Thurstan College
Royal College320Thurstan College
Vidyartha College380Lalith Athulathmudali
Vidyartha College05Royal College
Thurstan College190Lalith Athulathmudali

DS Senanayake College was the only team to pose a threat towards Isipathana College as the DS boys drew with Isipathana in their ‘group G’ fixture. However a superior point difference meant the Green machine progressed though, leaving the DS lads disappointed.

Isipathana College430Eheliyagoda CC
DS Senanayake170Maliyadeva College
Isipathana College220Maliyadeva College
DS Senanayake330Eheliyagoda CC
Maliyadeva College75Eheliyagoda CC
Isipathana College1212DS Senanayake


In ‘group H’ Science College posed a threat towards St. Joseph’s College. But the boys from Maradana overcame the Science lads to win, ending the day in horrible lighting conditions unsuitable for rugby.

St. Joseph’s College200St. John’s College
Science College290Royal Panadura
St. Joseph’s College360Royal Panadura
Science College75St. John’s College
Science College020St. Joseph’s College
Royal Panadura015St. John’s College

The group winners will line up in the Cup quarter-finals, while the 8 runners up move into the Bowl quarter-finals. The 8 teams placed third in each group move into the Shield quarter-finals.

Day two fixtures:


Day two is scheduled to begin at 9am tomorrow at the Sugathadasa Stadium for the business end of the tournament.