Lyceum, Wattala clinches title for 8th time

Lyceum, Wattala clinches title for 8th time

Lyceum International School, Wattala was crowned champions of the Inter-International Schools Cricket Tournament after they beat Lyceum International School, Nugegoda at the Shalika Ground in Colombo.

The match was played in a 40 over format with Lyceum, Wattala winning the toss and electing to bat first with Hasitha Gunasiri top scoring with 53 and helping the boys from Wattala to amount a total of 265 in 40 overs. In reply Lyceum, Nugegoda were put under pressure by Jeevithan Mageshwaran when he grabbed 4 scalps for 30 runs. However, Pasindu Rajapaksha gave a valiant effort with his 56 runs but to no avail as Lyceum, Nugegoda was bowled out for 191 runs in 34.3 overs.


Toss: Lyceum International School, Wattala elected to bat first

Lyceum International School, Wattala
265 in 40 overs – Hasitha Gunasiri 53, Kavindu Rajakaruna 45, Vihanga Ambepitiya 2/36
Lyceum International School, Nugegoda
191 in 34.3 overs – Pasindu Rajapaksha 56, Akalanka Senevirathne 35, Jeevithan Mageshwaran 4/30
Lyceum International School, Wattala win by 74 runs.

Man of the Final – Hasitha Gunasiri (LIS, Wattala)
Man of the Series – Hiruna Wickramasinghe (Wycherley International School)
Best Batsman – Vihanga Ambepitiya (LIS, Nugegoda)
Best Bowler – Imantha Fernando (LIS, Wattala)