Kusal Mendis returns to top 20

Jonny Bairstow of England, Bangladesh’s Mominul Haque and Yasir Shah of Pakistan have made impressive gains in the latest MRF Tyres ICC Test Player Rankings following their contributions in their sides’ convincing victories earlier this week.

• James Anderson returns number-one bowling ranking to Kagiso Rabada

Bairstow’s 110 and 15 was the cornerstone of England’s 42-run victory over Sri Lanka in Colombo, which gave the visitors a 3-0 series win, Mominul scored 120 and 12 as Bangladesh defeated the Windies by 64 runs in Chittagong for their maiden win over the Caribbean side, and Yasir recorded match figures of 14 for 184 as Pakistan bounced back in Dubai to level the series with New Zealand following an innings-and-16-run victory.

These performances not only earned the three players the match awards, but also reflected in the latest player rankings, which were released Wednesday morning.

Bairstow has returned to the top-20 in 16th place after rising six places, Mominul is now just outside the top-20 in 24th place after moving up 11 places and Yasir is back in the top-10 in 10th position after jumping nine places.

A number of other players have improved their rankings, following impressive performances in the just-concluded Tests.

In the batting table, which Virat Kohli of India continues to lead, Azhar Ali has moved up three places to 12th, Kusal Mendis is 20th (up by eight places), Ben Stokes is 31st (up by five places), Roshen Silva is 48th (up by five places) and Shane Dowrich is 58th (up by seven places).

Meanwhile, New Zealand’s Henry Nicholls leads the pack of batsmen who have achieved career-high rankings.

Nicholls is now ranked 17th (up by three places), Jos Buttler is 18th (up by three places), Haris Sohail is 38th (up by 33 places), Babar Azam is 39th (up by 24 places) and Ben Foakes is 50th (up by four places).

In the bowlers’ table, Kagiso Rabada has become the number-one bowler after England’s James Anderson lost one per cent of his points for missing the Colombo Test. This meant Anderson lost nine points and has now dropped eight points behind the South Africa fast bowler.

Read – Fourteen wickets for Yasir as Pakistan level series against New Zealand

Apart from Yasir, other bowlers to move up the ladder are: Taijul Islam at a career-high 21st position (up six places), Stokes at 28th (up three places), Devendra Bishoo at 32nd (up two places), Adil Rashid at a career-best 36th (up two places), Jack Leach at 41st (up two places), Lakshan Sandakan at a career-high 45th (up 11 places) and Malinda Pushpakumara at 61st (up 15 places).

Media release on MRF Tyres ICC Media Team Rankings post Sri Lanka and England Test series is available here.

MRF Tyres ICC Men’s Test Player Rankings (as on 28 November, after Chittagong, Colombo and Dubai Tests)

BATSMEN (top 30)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsAvgeHighest Rating
1( – )Virat KohliInd93554.57937 v Eng at Southampton 2018
2( – )Steve SmithAus91061.37947 v SA at Durban 2018
3( – )Kane WilliamsonNZ87650.42893 v Aus at Perth 2015
4( – )Joe RootEng80750.44917 v Aus at Trent Bridge 2015
5( – )David WarnerAus80348.2880 v NZ at Perth 2015
6( – )C. PujaraInd76549.54888 v SL at Nagpur 2017
7( – )D. KarunaratneSL75337.6754 v SA at Colombo (SSC) 2018
8( – )Dean ElgarSA72441.05784 v Aus at Johannesburg 2018
9( – )Aiden MarkramSA703*47.27759 v Aus at Johannesburg 2018
10(+1)Usman KhawajaAus69943.83747 v Pak at Sydney 2017
11(-1)D. ChandimalSL69544.28755 v Win at St Lucia 2018
12(+3)Azhar AliPak68344.47787 v Aus at Melbourne 2016
13(-1)Ross TaylorNZ68246.59871 v Win at Hamilton 2013
14(-1)Hashim AmlaSA67347.23907 v Pak at Abu Dhabi 2013
15(-1)Faf du PlessisSA66542.33734 v Ind at Centurion 2018
16(+6)Jonny BairstowEng65337.71772 v SA at Old Trafford 2017
17(+3)Henry NichollsNZ644*!36.07644 v Pak at Dubai 2018
18(+3)Jos ButtlerEng635!36.76635 v SL at Colombo (SSC) 2018
19(-2)Ajinkya RahaneInd63341.4825 v NZ at Indore 2016
20(+8)Kusal MendisSL62736.11693 v Win at St Lucia 2018
21=(-3)Mushfiqur RahimBan61135.32658 v Aus at Chittagong 2017
     (+2)Asad ShafiqPak61139.15758 v Eng at Lord’s 2016
23(-7)Angelo MathewsSL60943.05877 v NZ at Christchurch 2014
24=(+11)Mominul HaqueBan60844.35661 v Pak at Mirpur 2015
     (+2)Lokesh RahulInd60837.71761 v SL at Pallekele 2017
26=(+1)Brendan TaylorZim607*35.38684 v Ban at Mirpur 2014
     (-8)Kraigg BrathwaiteWin60735.97701 v Eng at Headingley 2017
28(-4)Shakib Al HasanBan60339.23694 v Aus at Mirpur 2017
29(-5)BJ WatlingNZ60137.61644 v Eng at Headingley 2015
30(-1)Quinton de KockSA59336.32802 v NZ at Hamilton 2017

Read more – Sri Lanka drop in Test rankings

BOWLERS (top 30)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsAvgeHighest rating
1(+1)Kagiso RabadaSA88221.71902 v Aus at Port Elizabeth 2018
2(-1)James AndersonEng87426.98903 v Ind at Lord’s 2018
3( – )M. AbbasPak829*16.62838 v NZ at Abu Dhabi 2018
4( – )Vernon PhilanderSA82621.54912 v Ind at Johannesburg 2013
5( – )Ravindra JadejaInd81223.5899 v Aus at Ranchi 2017
6(+1)Pat CumminsAus784*23.81800 v SA at Johannesburg 2018
7(+1)R. AshwinInd77725.44904 v Eng at Mumbai 2016
8(-2)Trent BoultNZ77228.07825 v Eng at Lord’s 2015
9( – )Jason HolderWin758*28.5766 v Ind at Hyderabad 2018
10(+9)Yasir ShahPak75228.23878 v Eng at Lord’s 2016
11(+1)Shannon GabrielWin74929.73757 v Ban at Jamaica 2018
12(-1)Josh HazlewoodAus74426.84863 v Ind at Bengaluru 2017
13(-3)Neil WagnerNZ74028.49785 v Win at Wellington 2017
14=(+1)Nathan LyonAus70632.21774 v Eng at Adelaide 2017
     ( – )Tim SoutheeNZ70630.82799 v Win at Jamaica 2014
16(-3)Stuart BroadEng69429.04880 v SA at Johannesburg 2016
17(-1)Mitchell StarcAus69328.52805 v SA at Durban 2018
18(-1)Keshav MaharajSA692*27.65695 v Zim at Port Elizabeth 2017
19(-1)Dilruwan PereraSL689!31.49689 v Eng at Colombo (SSC) 2018
20(+1)Shakib Al HasanBan67331.44705 v Aus at Mirpur 2017
21(+6)Taijul IslamBan652*!31.1652 v Win at Chittagong 2018
22( – )M. ShamiInd63729.96703 v SA at Johannesburg 2018
23( – )Dale SteynSA63522.64909 v Win at Centurion 2014
24(-4)Kemar RoachWin62828.59774 v SA at Centurion 2014
25(-1)Umesh YadavInd613!32.85613 v Win at Hyderabad 2018
26(-1)Ishant SharmaInd60334.73671 v Win at Dominica 2011
27(-1)Moeen AliEng60037.44633 v Win at Edgbaston 2017
28(+3)Ben StokesEng58832.7596 v Win at Lord’s 2017
29( – )B. KumarInd578*26.09626 v SA at Johannesburg 2018
30(-2)Mehidy HasanBan574*33.12580 v Zim at Dhaka 2018


ALL-ROUNDERS (top five)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsHighest Rating
1( – )Shakib Al HasanBan405489 v Aus at Mirpur 2017
2( – )Ravindra JadejaInd400438 v SL at Colombo (SSC) 2017
3( – )Jason HolderWin372 /*381 v Ind at Hyderabad 2018
4( – )Vernon PhilanderSA370378 v SL at Galle 2018
5(+1)Ben StokesEng342396 v Win at Lord’s 2017

indicates provisional rating; a batsman qualifies for a full rating after playing 40 Test innings; a bowler qualifies for a full rating when he reaches 100 Test wickets.

!indicates career-highest rating

Read also – Yadav and Zampa break into top-five among T20I bowlers