Kusal, Matheesha, Sirisoma and Rangika star in Tier B


Here’s a roundup of the matches which took place in the SLC Tier B Premier League tournament today.

Navy SC vs Negombo CC

Kusal Edusuriya’s century helped the Sailors reach 252 for 6 at stumps on day 1 in their match against Negombo CC at Welisara today.  Negombo CC won the toss and elected to bowl first. After the fall of a few quick wickets early on, Kusal and Buddhika Hasaranga put together a good partnership to steady the ship for the Sailors. Buddhika was unfortunately dismissed for a well-made 80. 

Navy Sports Club 252/6 (83.3) Kusal Edusuriya 100*, Buddhika Hasaranga 80, Supun Leelarathna 27, Sehan Weerasinghe 2/29, Roshen Fernando 2/52 

Negombo Cricket Club

Panadura SC vs Air Force SC

In form Shohan Rangika bowled yet another top quality spell to skittle Panadura SC for just 176 runs at Panadura. Rangika’s five wicket haul rattled the Panadura line up that lasted only 46.4 over after being put into bat first by Air Force. In reply, The Airmen were 68 for the loss of 1 wicket in 16.5 overs. 

Panadura Sports Club 176 (46.4) Suresh Peiris 30, Vinodh Perera 29, Mohammad Rameez 26, Danusika Bandara 20, Shohan Rangika 5/52, Milan Rathnayake 3/44 

Air Force Sports Club 68/1 (16.5) Hashan James 37*, Udayawansha Parakrama 25

Police SC vs Kurunegala YCC

Police managed to end Day 1 in a dominating position in their match against Kurunegala YCC at Welagedara Stadium. The home side won the toss and elected to field first. A few good cameos and half centuries from Dinusha Fernando and Tharindu Dilshan saw the cops reach 224 for 5 in 90 overs. 

Police Sports Club 224/5 (90) Dinusha Fernando 61, Tharindu Dilshan 52, Samith Dushantha 34*, Vibhor Yadav 29, Tharindu Siriwardena 21, Thusith de Soysa 2/49 

Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club 

Kalutara TC vs Galle CC

Matheesha Perera’s 122 guided Kalutara TC to 258 for 6 at stumps on Day 1 in their match against Galle CC at Moratuwa. Kalutara won the toss and elected to bat first. They looked in control from the word go and it was Matheesha who took center stage with his century while Eranga Rathnayake remained unbeaten on 60 at stumps. All six wickets which fell in the Kalutara innings was taken by in from Gayan Sirisoma.

Kalutara Town Club 258/6 (75) Matheesha Perera 122, Eranga Rathnayake 60*, Geeth Perera 24, Gayan Sirisoma 6/70

Galle Cricket Club