Himmat Singh century overpowers Sri Lanka Emerging Team


Middle order batsman Himmat Singh’s unbeaten century guided India Emerging team to a 4-wicket win over Sri Lanka Emerging team in their final group game of the Emerging Teams Asia Cup on Monday at R. Premadasa International Stadium.

With both teams already qualified for the semi-finals, the top spot in group A was up for grabs on a scorching hot day.

Singh carried his team single-handedly with a fine 126 which came in 140 deliveries as India chased down Sri Lanka’s score of 260 with more than 2 overs remaining.

Sri Lanka through to Semis with thrilling win over Afghanistan

Sri Lankan fast-bowler Asitha Fernando removed Indian opening batsman Atharwa Taide in the very first ball to send jitters into the Indian dressing room.

Despite losing Taide and one-drop batsman Nitish Rana early to the bowling of Fernando, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Singh built up a solid 148-run stand for the third wicket to deny Sri Lanka.

Both Gaikwad and Singh, batted with utmost confidence to keep the scoreboard ticking by accumulating runs at a healthy rate. Gaikwad made 67 off 73 deliveries with 5 fours and 1 six before being stumped off left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya.

Ambidextrous spinner Kamindu Mendis picked up three Indian wickets for Sri Lanka. But, 22-year old Singh gave away nothing to guide India and hit the winning runs.

Earlier, former Sebastanite, Avishka Fernando, who opened in the previous matches, came in at number three and struck a fine 80 in 106 balls to set up the Lankan innings. He hit his second half-century in the tournament and in doing so, slammed 6 fours and 1 six.  

Photos : Sri Lanka vs India – ACC Emerging Asia Cup 2018

Shehan Jayasuriya made a vital contribution of 38 off 42 balls but Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals. They negotiated the Indian spinners well. But, gave away wickets to the pace of Shivam Mavi and Prasidh Krishna, who shared five wickets amongst them.

Experienced Asela Gunaratne returned to form by playing a wonderful knock of 67 to provide the much-needed late blitz to the Lankan innings.

The two semi-finals will be played on Thursday (13th December) as Sri Lanka will play Pakistan at R. Premadasa Stadium, while India will battle it out against Bangladesh at CCC Grounds.

>>For more Cricket News<<


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka


(50 overs)




(47.3 overs)

India won by 4 wickets

Sri Lanka’s Innings

Sandun Weerakkody lbw by J Yadav2221
Hasitha Boyagoda c J Yadav b P Krishna614
Avishka Fernando c J Yadav b S Mavi80106
Shehan Jayasuriya b P Krishna3842
Kamindu Mendis lbw by S Mulani1222
Asela Gunarathne not out6764
Shammu Ashan c P Singh b S Mavi06
Chamika Karunarathne c R Gaikwad b S Mavi822
Shehan Madushanka not out126
15 (lb 3, w 9, nb 3)
260/7 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-26 (H Boyagoda, 3.4 ov), 2-55 (S Weerakkody, 7.5 ov), 3-127 (S Jayasuriya, 22.5 ov), 4-155 (K Mendis, 29.5 ov), 5-192 (A Fernando, 37.6 ov), 6-194 (S Ashan, 39.5 ov), 7-228 (C Karunarathne, 47.2 ov)
Shivam Mavi100623 6.20
Prasidh Krishna80472 5.88
Jayant Yadav100401 4.00
Shams Mulani90421 4.67
Siddharth Desai90530 5.89
Nitish Rana40130 3.25

India’s Innings

Atharwa Taide lbw by A Fernando01
Ruturaj Gaikwad st S Weerakkody b L Ambuldeniya6773
Nitish Rana c S Madushanka b A Fernando1318
Himmat Singh not out126140
Deepak Hooda c A Fernando b K Mendis2624
Prabhsimran Singh c A Fernando b K Mendis36
Jayant Yadav c S Weerakkody b K Mendis911
Shams Mulani not out1113
6 (w 5, nb 1)
261/6 (47.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-0 (A Taide, 0.1 ov), 2-20 (N Rana, 4.4 ov), 3-168 (R Gaikwad, 30.3 ov), 4-209 (D Hooda, 38.4 ov), 5-221 (P Singh, 40.1 ov), 6-234 (J Yadav, 42.6 ov)
Asitha Fernando72202 2.86
Shehan Jayasuriya30210 7.00
Lasith Ambuldeniya90621 6.89
Asela Gunarathne4.30270 6.28
Shehan Madushanka60320 5.33
Kamindu Mendis90513 5.67
Chamika Karunarathne30170 5.67
Shammu Ashan61310 5.17