Galle women clinch inaugural Provincial super four title

Women’s Provincial Super Four – Final


In an initiative to develop Women’s Cricket Sri Lanka  focusing on the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup, Sri Lanka cricket’s latest Super Four Provincial Tournament showcased some brilliant performances which concluded this evening (12th December) with the Galle women’s team winning comprehensively by 29 runs.

After being put into bat first by Dambulla Skipper Chamari Attapattu, the Galle team was in a spot of bother losing two early wickets for 23 runs. Udeshika Probadani’s left arm deliveries did the trick for Dambulla causing much doubt in the Galle batswomen’s mind by the 8th over. Kaveesha Dilhari joined the attack by picking the price wicket of inform all-rounder Shashikala Siriwardena who was well set on 26.

The Galle women’s team was aground at 64 for the loss of 4 wickets with Prasadani Weerakkody not out on 30. Weerakkody together with Malsha Shehani helped Galle post a formidable total of 192 for the loss of 9 wickets in their allocated 50 overs with nilakshi De Silva chipping in with an important 25. Udeshika Probodani and Kaveesha Dilhani were the chief destroyers for Dambulla bagging two wickets each.

Photos : Galle vs Dambulla | Women’s Super Provincial Tournament 2018 | Final

Chasing a target of 193 was not an easy task on a spin friendly P. Sara Oval wicket. Chamari Attapattu beat the odds showcasing some wonderful cover drives as she single handedly took Dambulla to 55 for the loss of 2 wickets by the 16th over.

Attapattu looked quite positive with the bat thanks to some valiant support given by Dilini Manodara but eventually ran out of partners, as Dambulla were bowled out for 163 in the 49th over. Sathya Sandeepani picked up 3 wickets for 28 runs whilst Sugandika Kumari picked up 2 wickets for 22 runs for Galle.

Galle Women 192/9 (50) : Prasdani Weerkkody 41, Malsha Shehani 40, Shashikala Siriwardana 26, Nilakshi De Silva 25, Udeshika Probodani 3/29, Kaveesha Dilhari 2/44, Hansima Karunarathne 2/42


Dambulla Women 163 (48.1) : Chamari Attapattu 53, Dilini Manodara 27, Jimanjali Wijemanna 20, Sathya Sandeepani 3/28, Sugandika Kumari 2/22