Four NOCs for T10 League denied by SLC

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021


The ‘No Objection Certificates’ for four Sri Lankan Cricketers, who were drafted to play in the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021, have been denied by Sri Lanka Cricket.

Maheesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Karunaratne and Matheesha Pathirana will miss the tournament, which begins on the 19th of November in the United Arab Emirates.

Maheesh Theekshana, who was struggling with a side strain in the early stages of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, has been asked to stay back to get adequate rest for his upcoming national commitments.

Read more: Mahela questions player selection for LPL season 02

Theekshana was a star in the last edition of Abu Dhabi T10 League and earned himself the ‘Man of the Final’ title, bagging 3 wickets in the final.

Chamika Karunaratne and Dushmantha Chameera too ahave been denied NOCs due to workload management. Chameera has been on the road for over 2 months now as he was a part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore squad for the IPL 2021.

Sri Lanka U19 fast bowler, Matheesha Pathirana was not given an NOC due to his national commitments coming up against the England U19s later this month.

Read more: No KJP, Mathews, Chandimal & DDS for LPL 2021

However, four other Sri Lankan cricketers were named as the replacements for the ones missing out. Therefore, skipper Dasun Shanaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Binura Fernando and Angelo Perera will be taking flight to the UAE to join their respective franchises.

Apart from them, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana and Upul Tharanga were initially picked for the tournament and were given the green light from the SLC.

The following is the full list of Sri Lankan cricketers taking part in the Abu Dhabi T10 League along with their teams.

  • The Chennai Braves – Dhananjaya Lakshan, Dasun Shanaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Angelo Perera.
  • Deccan Gladiators – Wanindu Hasaranga
  • Bangla Tigers – Isuru Udana
  • Northern Warriors – Upul Tharanga, Binura Fernando