England squad announced for first two New Zealand Tests


England have announced a 13-member squad for the first two Tests of their upcoming ICC World Test Championship assignment at home against New Zealand, starting 2 June.

Read More : Rahim-Das partnership takes Bangladesh towards 1st innings lead

The veteran pace duo of James Anderson and Stuart Broad, who had been left out of the previous squad travelling to West Indies, made a return to England’s Test side for the three-match Test series against the reigning World Test Championship winners.

Uncapped players Matthew Potts and Harry Brook have earned maiden call-ups while Alex Lees, Craig Overton and Jack Leach, who were a part of the West Indies series, have retained their spots.

Read : Zubayr Hamza suspended for doping violation

Squad: Ben Stokes (c), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes, Jack Leach, Alex Lees, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Joe Root.

More to follow …