Sangeeth Cooray and Pabasara Waduge stroke tons; Ashian Daniel takes 5-fer

Dialog-SLC National Super League 2022 – Four Day Tournament


Sangeeth Cooray and Pabasara Waduge stroke centuries as Galle take upper hand on day three against Jaffna, in their encounter of the National Super League 4-day Tournament played today (19th March) at Pallekele.

Jaffna vs Galle

Galle resumed their first innings on day three at 113/0 and continued their domination with the bat, posting a mammoth 444/9 before declaring the innings.

The overnight batters Sangeeth Cooray and Pabasara Waduge went on to stroke brilliant centuries for Galle. Cooray top-scored with a fine knock of 160 runs off 263 balls with 13 fours, while Waduge made 108 runs off 165 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes.

Shashika Dulshan and Janith Liyanage shared 7 wickets between them. Jaffna began their second innings 190 runs behind and posted 43/0 at the close of play on day three.

Brief Scores

Jaffna – 254 (83.5) N Pradeep 37*, N Paranavithana 34, N Madushka 29, K Senaratne 29, S Gunathilake 28, S Fernando 27, S Lakshan 4/28, D Madushanka 3/51, C De Silva 2/72 & 43/0 (12) N Paranavithana 22*, N Madushka 21*

Galle – 444/9d (114.5) S Cooray 160, P Waduge 108, S Lakshan 57, H Dumindu 54, S Dulshan 4/146, J Liyanage 3/53

Stumps – Day 3

Kandy vs Dambulla

After being 77/3 at stumps on day two, Dambulla bowled out for 216 for their first innings. The experienced batter Ashan Priyanjan top-scored with a knock of 73 runs off 143 balls with 9 fours, while the Skipper Minod Bhanuka played a fine hand scoring 71 runs off 116 balls with 8 fours and a six.

The off spinner Ashain Daniel was the pick of the bowlers for Kandy as he took 5 wickets for 75 runs, while the speedster Asitha Fernando came up with an impressive spell of 4 for 39.

Kandy began their second innings with a 230-run lead and posted 134/3 at stumps on day three. Oshada Fernando once again starred with the bat, scoring a half-ton (63 off 71).

Brief Scores

Kandy – 446 (128.5) O Fernando 97, K Mendis 94, L Udara 83, K Mishara 74, L Croospulle 43, M Pushpakumara 7/120 & 134/3 (34) O Fernando 63, K Mendis 36*

Dambulla – 216 (60) A Priyanjan 73, M Bhanuka 71, L Samarakoon 42, A Daniel 5/75, A Fernando 4/39

Stumps – Day 3