Kamindu Mendis hits third consecutive ton in NSL

Dialog-SLC National Super League 2022 – Four Day Tournament


Kandy Skipper Kamindu Mendis continued his good form with the bat as he stroked his third consecutive century in the National Super League 4-day tournament.    

Dambulla vs Galle

Galle continued their domination with the bat on day three as they posted a massive 499/7 at the end of the day’s play. After being 225/2, Galle added another 274 runs to the overnight score, losing 5 more wickets.

Hashan Dumindu and Dhananjaya Lakshan, who remained unbeaten at the crease at stumps yesterday, went onto score centuries. Dumindu top-scored with a brilliant knock of 167 runs off 375 balls with 17 fours, while Lakshan contributed with a brisk 119 runs off 196 balls with 13 fours.

Lahiru Samarakoon and Ashan Priyanjan were the star performers with the ball for Dambulla as they picked up 2 wickets each.

Brief Scores

Dambulla – 418 (116.1) M Bhanuka 163, N Gunasinghe 103, L Samarakoon 37*, C Ruwansiri 4/62, A Dananjaya 3/98

Galle – 499/7 (141) H Dumindu 167, D Lakshan 119, V Randika 51, S Lakshan 46, P Waduge 34, S Cooray 32, L Samarakoon 2/45, A Priyanjan 2/82

Stumps – Day 3

Kandy vs Galle

Kandy resumed their second innings on day three on 94/3 and added 141 runs for the remaining 7 wickets as they were restricted to 235 setting a target of 259 runs to win for Colombo.

The Skipper Kamindu Mendis, who remained unbeaten on 48 runs at stumps on day two, went on to score his fifth first-class century. Mendis made 114 runs off 166 balls with 12 fours and 3 sixes.

Sri Lanka capped seamer Kasun Rajitha had a great outing with the ball after a while as he snared 5 wickets for 48 runs.

Chasing 259 runs to win, Colombo opening pair Nipun Dananjaya (59*) and Krishan Sanjula (52*) provided a great start to the inning, adding an unbeaten 114-run stand for the opening wicket.

Brief Scores

Kandy – 241 (71) O Fernando 105, K Vidura 43, P Jayasuriya 3/47, L Manasinghe 3/59, K Rajitha 2/43, N Tharaka 2/61 & 235 (71.2) K Mendis 114, S Colombage 29, K Mishara 25, K Rajitha 5/48, L Manasinghe 3/79

Colombo – 218 (73.5) L Madushanka 80*, L Manasinghe 53, A Fernando 3/38, A Daniel 3/51 & 114/0 (29) N Dananjaya 59*, K Sanjula 52*

Stumps – Day 3