DFCC Bank clinch MCA C Division 50 Overs League championship

MCA C Division 50 Overs League Cricket Tournament 2023


DFCC Bank emerged champions of the MCA C Division 50 Overs League Cricket Tournament 2023 as they defeated Nawaloka Hospital by 7 wickets in the final of the tournament worked off today (12th August) at MCA Grounds, Colombo.

After being put into bat first, Nawaloka Hospital was bowled out for just 136 runs. Dileepa Nilupul was the chief scorer for Nawaloka Hospital as he made 51 runs off 95 balls with 5 fours and a six.

Nipun Premarathna produced an outstanding bowling performance for DFCC Bank, scalping 5 wickets for 35 runs. Devindu Kekirideniya was also impressive with the ball for DFCC Bank as he bagged 3 wickets for 16 runs.

In reply, DFCC Bank got off to a shaky start, losing 3 top-order wickets for just 7 runs inside the first 4 overs. However, middle-order batters Pawan Pathiraja and Ravindu Rathnayake revived the innings, building a match-winning partnership to help DFCC Bank cross over the line with ease.

Both Pathiraja and Rathnayake scored half-centuries and added 130 runs off 120 balls for the 4th wicket. Pathiraja was the top scorer for the victorious DFCC Bank as he made unbeaten 69 runs off 67 balls with 9 fours and 2 sixes while Rathnayake chipped in with valuable 55 runs off 64 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Brief Scores

Nawaloka Hospital – 136 (40.4) Dileepa Nilupul 51, Sanka Purna 21, Nipun Premarathna 5/35, Devindu Kekirideniya 3/16

DFCC Bank – 137/3 (23.2) Pawan Pathiraja 69*, Ravindu Rathnayake 55*, Sanka Purna 2/35

Result – DFCC Bank won by 7 wickets & clinched the championship