Colts CC & NCC declare as joint champions

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament

Colts CC and Nondescripts CC emerged as the joint champions of the Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023 after being washed out of the final, today (11th June) at SSC Grounds in Colombo.

>>Colts into second straight T20 final along with NCC<<

The experienced off-spinner Akila Dananjaya led Colts CC to the final, beating Ace Capital CC in the semi-finals while NCC captained by wicket-keeper batter Niroshan Dickwella, made their way to the final after a crushing win over Moors SC.

Former national cricketer, Upul Tharanga who played for NCC, was the top run-scorer in the tournament, amassing 195 runs at an average of 65 and a strike rate of 148.85. Avishka Fernando (SSC) and Thanuka Dabare (Ace Capital CC) were in the 2nd and 3rd places of the top run-scorers chart, scoring 183 & 164 runs, respectively.

>>NCC, Moors SC, Colts CC and Ace Capital book semi-final spots as the first round ends<<

In the bowling front, Moors SC’s Lahiru Samarakoon picked up 13 wickets as the highest wicket-taker while Roshan Jayathissa (Ace Capital CC) and Asela Sigera (NCC) scalped 11 & 10 wickets, apiece.

Awards – Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023

Player of the Tournament: Lahiru Samarakoon

Best Batsman: Upul Tharanga

Best Bowler: Lahiru Madushanka