Colts into second straight T20 final along with NCC

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament

Nondescripts CC and Colts CC have booked their places in the Final of the Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023, beating Moors SC and Ace Capital CC respectively in the two Semi-finals which were played today at P. Sara Oval Stadium in Colombo.

1st Semi-Final – Nondescripts CC vs Moors SC

Earlier today, Nondescripts Cricket Club thrashed Moors Sports Club to secure a 7-wicket win by DLS method in a rain-hampered Semi-final, and progressed to the Final.

NCC Skipper Niroshan Dickwella won the most important toss and asked Moors SC to bat first. Sohan De Livera opened the innings with Dinuka Dilshan, who failed to provide a good start, making it a long walk back to the pavilion in the very first over against Chamika Gunasekara.

However, despite losing his partner, De Livera was in full attack mode to make full use of the powerplay, blasting a 17-ball 37 including 6 fours & 2 sixes before Kavin Bandara held onto a catch off Asela Sigera at the end of the 5th over.

>>Bloomfield prevail with Lahiru Madhusanka’s all-round brilliance<<

Janishka Perera was in good touch before running himself out by Sahan Arachchige for 28 runs. Omesh Mendis’ brief stay was ended by Lasith Embuldeniya, reducing them to 4/89 in 8.5 overs. Rain has stopped play with Moors SC 95/4 after 10 overs, and it reduced to 13 overs per side.

After the rain break, Pasindu Sooriyabandara and Mohammed Shamaaz, who kept the scoreboard ticking, made some useful cameos as the Moors finished with 131/5. In bowling for NCC, Asela Sigera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Nipun Ransika and Chamika Gunasekara picked up a wicket apiece.

NCC got a revised target of 138 to advance to the Final as Skipper Niroshan Dickwella and Kamil Mishara began their chase and smashed 47 runs off just 16 balls, before Mishara ran out for 15. Soon after, Thaveesha Abhishek made his way back to the dressing room in the same way after another huge mix up with his Skipper.

Former legendary batter Upul Tharanga’s stay at the crease did not last long as Lahiru Samarakoon castled him behind the legs for just 5 runs. Despite losing 3 wickets, in-form Sahan Arachchige joined Dickwella as they continued to pile on the runs against the experienced Moors bowling line-up.

The latter was in a destructive mode, reaching his fifty off just 18 balls. With an unbroken 63-run partnership within only 25 balls between the left-handed duo, NCC cruised to the target quite emphatically with more than 3 overs to spare. Sahan Arachchige raced to an unbeaten 18-ball 44, with 3 fours & 2 sixes, and Dickwella won the Player of the Match for his astonishing 70* off 26, which included 11 fours & 3 sixes.

2nd Semi-Final – Colts CC vs Ace Capital SC

After finishing the previous season as the runners-up, Colts Cricket Club registered a convincing win over Ace Capital CC in the 2nd Semi-final and advanced to their second successive Major Club T20 Final.

Colts CC Skipper Akila Dananjaya decided to bowl first after winning the toss and the bowlers restricted Ace Capital to 147/8. At one stage, they were 35/4 inside the first 7 overs, but Pawantha Weerasinghe and Sakuna Liyanage were looked to rebuild their innings by adding 54 runs to the 5th wicket, before Liyanage being dismissed for a run-a-ball 20.

The three low-order batters in Ravindu Rathnayake, Wanuja Sahan Kumara and Nimsara Atharagalla also played some nice little cameos. Weerasinghe top scored for them with a valuable 73 runs off 52 balls which included 6 fours & 4 sixes, before holding out to square leg fielder off Dhananjaya Lakshan’s last ball of his spell.

>>NCC, Moors SC, Colts CC and Ace Capital book semi-final spots as the first round ends<<

Dhananjaya Lakshan was the key bowler for Colts CC, finishing with an excellent 4-wicket haul. Udith Madushan scalped two, while Dunith Wellalage also bagged one.

When chasing 148 to victory, Colts CC lost both their openers with just 17 runs on the board. However, Angelo Mathews, who came into the side after national duties, joined with Dhanajaya Lakshan by setting the platform with an 82-run stand for the 3rd wicket. The veteran fell after scoring 36, and soon after, Lakshan also departed after stroking a vital half-century with 3 fours & sixes apiece.

Sithum Dissanayake bowled tightly to pick a couple of wickets, but it was Jehan Daniel, who stroked an unbeaten 23 off just 14 balls, who brought up the win for Colts CC with 8 balls remaining and sealed their place in the Final. Dhananjaya Lakshan was adjudged as the Player of the Match due to his magnificent all-round performance.

Stay in touch with for all the latest updates as the Final of Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023 will take place on 11th June between Nondescripts CC and Colts CC at SSC Grounds in Colombo.

>>Sakuna, Pawantha script third straight win for Ace Capital<<

Brief Scores:

Moors SC 131/5 (13) Sohan De Livera 37, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 28, Janishka Perera 28, Mohammed Shamaaz 19*, Asela Sigera 1/12, Lasith Embuldeniya 1/13, Nipun Ransika 1/33, Chamika Gunasekara 1/35

Nondescripts CC 138/3 (9.5) Niroshan Dickwella 70*, Sahan Arachchige 44*, Kamil Mishara 15, Lahiru Samarakoon 1/24

Result: Nondescripts CC won by 7 wickets. (DLS method – Match reduced to 13 overs, Target – 138)

Ace Capital CC 147/8 (20) Pawantha Weerasinghe 73, Sakuna Liyanage 20, Sithara Gimhana 13, Dhananjaya Lakshan 4/30, Udith Madushan 2/29, Dunith Wellalage 1/2

Colts CC 152/5 (18.4) Dhananjaya Lakshan 51, Angelo Mathews 36, Jehan Daniel 23*, Dunith Wellalage 12, Sithum Dissanayake 2/29, Roshan Jayathissa 1/15, Nimsara Atharagalla 1/27, Thanuka Dabare 1/30

Result: Colts CC won by 5 wickets.