Colombo v Outstation origin battle – teams announced!

Fundraiser for Chandrishan Perera


Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) have announced the two squads for the State of the Origin battle that is set to kick  off on the 11th of April 2019 at Havelock Park.

The encounter which was a brainchild of ThePapare’s columnist Boa Athu, will be organized as a fundraiser for Chandrishan Perera.

Read More: A game of rugby for Chandrishan Perera

The game will also serve as a selection trial for the Sri Lanka national XV’s squad as they prepare for the Asia Division I Rugby Championship that will take place in May this year.

Former national skipper Yoshitha Rajapakse (R) has also been added to the Colombo squad

The squads have been named according to the schools that they represented and the players from the concluded Dialog Rugby League who had their secondary education in schools in the Colombo locality will compile the Colombo outfit.

Read More: Clifford Cup fixtures out!

The rest will make up the Rest of the Country or Outstation origin side.

The Colombo side will have the likes of league winning skipper of Kandy Sports Club Richard Dharmapala alongside Havelock’s captain Niroshan Fernando.

Read More: School Rugby intensifies – Week 3 Preview

Meanwhile the outstation outfit will comprise of the CR & FC captain Kavindu Perera, CH & FC’s Adam Gauder and Kandy’s Roshan Weeraratne.

Newly appointed head coach for the national side, Matt Lee will be keeping a close eye on the game as he looks to compile the national fifteens side for the Division I tournament.

Colombo Origins Squad

No Name Club School
1 Dushmantha Priyadarshana Havelock SC Buddagosha Kalubovila
2 Jason Melder CH & FC St Joseph’s College
3 Ashan Darling Kandy SC Isipathana College
4 Charith Janith Silva Navy SC Science College
5 Faiz Abdulla Havelock SC St Peter’s College
6 Azmeer Fajudeen Havelock SC Royal College
7 Prasath Madusanka CH & FC Isipathana College
8 Umesha Madushan Havelock SC Royal College
9 Suhiru Anthony Kandy SC St Peter’s College
10 Sajith Saranga CH & FC Isipathana College
11 Yoshitha Rajapakse CH & FC S. Thomas’ College
12 Shehan Pathirana Kandy SC Royal College
13 Udara Suriyapperuma Police SC Ananda College
14 Sudarshan Muthuthanthri CH & FC S. Thomas’ College
15 Lasindu Heshan Havelock SC Science College
16 Omalka Gunaratne CR & FC Isipathana College
17 Mithun Hapugoda Havelock SC Mahanama College
18 Rahul De Silva CR&FC Wesly College
19 Sudam Sooriyarachchi CH&FC Isipathana College
20 Nigel Ratwatte Kandy
21 Janidu Dilshan CR & FC Royal College
22 Danushka Ranjan Kandy SC St. Peter’s College
23 Nishon Perera CH & FC St. Peter’s College
24 Anuruddha Wilwara Kandy SC S. Thomas’ College
25 Janith Chanaka Police SC St. Joseph’s College
26 Anuradha Herath CH & FC St Peter’s College
27 Buddima Priyarathana Navy SC D.S Senanayake College
28 Kevin Dixon CR & FC St. Peter’s College
29 Sachith Silva Police SC St. Joseph’s College
30 Richard Dharmapala Kandy SC Science College

Outstation Origins Squad

No Name Club School
1 Kasun De Silva Navy SC Thimbirigaskatuwa Negambo
2 Charles Praveen Air Force SC St. Anthony’s College
3 Yakoob Ali Kandy SC St. Anthony’s College
4 Sathya Ranathunga CH & FC Trinity College
5 Niroshan Dileepa Army SC Bandaranayaka MMV Gampaha
6 Rasith Jayanga Silva Police SC Prince of Wales
7 Uchitha Jayasuriya Kandy SC Kingswood College
8 Parakrama Rathnayake Air Force SC St. Sylvester’s College
9 Thilina Bandara Air Force SC St. Sylvester’s College
10 Heshan Kalhra Kandy SC Kingswood College
11 Shashika Jayawardana Kandy SC St. Anthony’s College
12 Prabath Kumara Army SC Ratnapura Katagolara MV
13 Tharindu Chathuranga Kandy SC Kingswood College
14 Nivanka Prasad CH & FC Hibulgoda Rajasinghe Gampaha
15 Jason Dissanayaka Kandy SC Vidyartha College
16 Buwanaka Udangamuwa Kandy SC Dharmaraja College
17 Nuwan Perera Air Force SC Kingswood College
18 Ashan Bandara Army SC Vidyartha College
19 Roshan Weerarathne Kandy SC Kingswood College
20 Tarinda Ratwatte CR & FC Trinity College
21 Dinuk Amerasinghe Havelock SC St. Anthony’s College
22 Adam Gauder CH & FC
23 Sudaraka Dikkumbura Army SC Sri Rahula MMV
24 Kavindu Perera CR & FC Vidyartha College
25 Reeza Rafaideen CR & FC Kingswood College
26 Thilina Wijesingha Kandy SC Dharmaraja College
27 Chathura Senevirathne Navy SC Kingswood College/St. Joseph’s
28 Samuel Maduwantha CH & FC St. Anthony’s College


Read Next: Sri Lanka Rugby hire Matt Lee