Colombo – Madras Regatta promises outstanding Rowing


The Colombo – Madras Regatta will take place on the 21st of July from 1pm-6pm at the Colombo Rowing Club.

Founded in the year 1864, Colombo Rowing Club (CRC) is one of the oldest rowing clubs in the region and has been instrumental in providing the island’s oarsmen and women the opportunity to engage in rowing as a sport and to build fellowship and interaction.

After weeks of tiresome training and days of grueling selection processes, the battle is on for thirteen races at the Beira Lake. Two crews, Madras Boat Club and Colombo Rowing Club will battle for the 79th time in recorded history.

Photo Album – Colombo Rowing Team | Colombo – Madras Regatta

The overall winners of the men’s event will be awarded the prestigious Deepam Trophy while the Adyar Trophy will be awarded to the women’s champions.

The men’s races include two categories namely A and B, under which Coxless Fours, Coxless Pair, Double Scull and Single Scull races will be held. The Women’s meet will comprise of Coxless Fours, Coxless Pair, Double Scull and Single Scull races. 

In the 78th Regatta the overall championship in the men’s category was won by Colombo Rowing Club obtaining 30 points. Madras Boat Club was able to obtain 20 points in the men’s category while women’s championship was also won by Colombo Rowing Club by getting 19 points. Madras Boat Club obtained 6 points in the women’s category.

The Colombo Crew comprises of Nihara Warawita, Lasaru Kudaligama, Ishika De Silva, Ruven Weerasinghe, Sajin De Livera, Ishara Abbey, Praveen Hapugalla, Janindhri Fernando, Suramba Seerasinghe, Gavik Kuruppu, Anithra Fernando, Lasindu Gamage, Sajaad Ajmal, Abdulla Hassen, Ashvini Subasinghe, Ramesh Nithushan, Dhaharath Anthony Senanayake, Kiara Kumaranayake and Gabrielle Senanayake.

This year’s crew will be led by Ruven Weerasinghe, one of the most experienced campaigners. Ruven will lead a 25 strong crew heading into the regatta.

Log in to for photos and event news at the end of the event