Home Cricket Club Cricket Dominant Chilaw Marians crowned champions

Dominant Chilaw Marians crowned champions

SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament

Chilaw Marians emerged champions of the SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament when they defeated NCC by 91 runs at SSC today (31).

It was a flawless performance from the team of the tournament who also beat NCC in their group stage game.

Surprisingly NCC who defended well in both their knockout games, opted to field first as Chilaw Marians got off to a flier via Sumit Ghadigaonkar and Lasith Croospulle.

Ghadigaonkar made his lowest score of the tournament (78) after a century and 99 in his other two knocks, as Chilaw built a strong foundation for a good finish. The Marians had a slight wobble in the middle overs but Rumesh Buddhika made sure he held the innings together with an unbeaten 60*, as the other batsmen batted brilliantly around him. 

Photos: Finals – NCC Vs Chilaw MCC – SLC Invitational Limited Over Tournament 2019/20

Thikshila de Silva smashed 47 off 36 balls, while Kamindu Mendis chipped in with 44 before Chathuranga Kumara finished the innings off brilliantly with 16* off 5 balls. 

The NCC spinners kept things tight during certain stages but they could not prevent NCC from reaching an imposing 295/8 with Chamika Gunasekara picking up two wickets. 

The NCC run chase looked good when they reached 118/1 with Lahiru Udara making a half century at the top of the order, but things fell apart dramatically as NCC lost their last 9 wickets for 86 runs.

Can Chilaw Marians topple NCC again?

The much fancied NCC outfit will take on the dark horses of the tournament, Chilaw Marians, on Tuesday…..

It was Pulina Tharanga who trapped Pathum Nissanka in front to open the floodgates, but skipper Shehan Jayasuriya led from the from with a three-wicket burst, as the Marians got the better of NCC a second time in the tournament. 

Kamindu Mendis was also impressive with his ambidextrous spin, as he captured three wickets on the eve to end as the highest wicket taker of the tournament (19).  


Nondescripts Cricket Club
204/10 (43.3)
Chilaw Marians Cricket Club
295/8 (50)
Lasith Croospulle b Chamika Gunasekara21222195.45
Sumit Ghadigaonkar c Mahela Udawatte b Sahan Arachchige7977140102.60
Kamindu Mendis b Nimesha Gunasinghe44703062.86
Rumesh Buddika not out60716084.51
Shehan Jayasuriya st Lahiru Udara b Sachindu Colombage380037.50
Thikshila de Silva c Lahiru Udara b Chamika Gunasekara473633130.56
Pulina Tharanga run out (Chaturanga de Silva)6310200.00
Nimesh Vimukthi c Angelo Perera b Dilesh Gunaratne120050.00
Irosh Fernando run out (Lahiru Udara)6600100.00
Chathuranga Kumara not out16521320.00
Extras12 (b 3 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 6, pen 0)
Total295/8 (50 Overs, RR: 5.9)
Did not batAsitha Fernando,
Fall of Wickets 1-63 (9.1) Lasith Croospulle, 2-128 (22.1) Sumit Ghadigaonkar, 3-171 (32.4) Kamindu Mendis, 4-178 (35.2) Shehan Jayasuriya, 5-247 (45.3) Thikshila de Silva, 6-254 (45.6) Pulina Tharanga, 7-259 (46.5) Nimesh Vimukthi, 8-278 (48.6) Irosh Fernando,
Dilesh Gunaratne603816.33
Chamika Karunaratne402807.00
Chaturanga de Silva503406.80
Chamika Gunasekara806728.38
Sachindu Colombage904014.44
Sahan Arachchige803214.00
Nimesha Gunasinghe904615.11
Mahela Udawatte10404.00

Pathum Nissanka lbw b Pulina Tharanga38653058.46
Lahiru Udara c & b Nimesh Vimukthi504991102.04
Nimesha Gunasinghe c & b Shehan Jayasuriya24422057.14
Mahela Udawatte c Irosh Fernando b Kamindu Mendis360050.00
Angelo Perera st Irosh Fernando b Shehan Jayasuriya190011.11
Chaturanga de Silva b Shehan Jayasuriya01000.00
Sahan Arachchige c & b Thikshila de Silva691066.67
Chamika Karunaratne c Shehan Jayasuriya b Asitha Fernando322914110.34
Sachindu Colombage lbw b Kamindu Mendis15242062.50
Chamika Gunasekara not out242440100.00
Dilesh Gunaratne st Irosh Fernando b Kamindu Mendis02000.00
Extras11 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 11, pen 0)
Total204/10 (43.3 Overs, RR: 4.69)
Fall of Wickets 1-70 (14.1) Lahiru Udara, 2-118 (25.1) Pathum Nissanka, 3-121 (26.2) Nimesha Gunasinghe, 4-123 (28.2) Angelo Perera, 5-123 (28.3) Chaturanga de Silva, 6-123 (29.1) Mahela Udawatte, 7-154 (33.1) Sahan Arachchige, 8-167 (36.2) Chamika Karunaratne, 9-192 (41.6) Sachindu Colombage, 10-204 (43.3) Dilesh Gunaratne,
Asitha Fernando612514.17
Chathuranga Kumara201306.50
Nimesh Vimukthi1014914.90
Thikshila de Silva703414.86
Shehan Jayasuriya603836.33
Pulina Tharanga511312.60
Kamindu Mendis7.303134.25