Chennai spank Kolkata in final to win fourth IPL title


DUBAI, Oct 15 (Reuters) – Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings claimed their fourth Indian Premier League (IPL) title with a comfortable 27-run victory against Kolkata Knight Riders in the final in Dubai on Friday.

Put into bat, Chennai amassed 192-3 with opener Faf du Plessis anchoring their innings with 86 off 59 balls.

Read More – Surprising Sri Lanka

Ruturaj Gaikwad made 32, while Robin Uthappa (31) and Moeen Ali (37 not out) chipped in with useful cameos.

Kolkata, led by England white-ball captain Eoin Morgan, got off to a flying start with a 91-run stand between openers Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer before wheels came off their innings and they finished on 165-9.

Read More – Muralidaran: Delighted to see how spinners have prospered in T20 cricket

Morgan made four and only four Kolkata batsmen managed double digit scores.

Shardul Thakur returned 3-38, while Ravindra Jadeja claimed 2-37 and took two stunning catches to hurt Kolkata.