Bloomfield, Kurunegala and Galle dominate Tier B proceedings

Major League Tier B tournament


Several Major League Tier B tournament matches were worked off today across the different venues in Colombo, Gampaha and Kalutara.

Galle Cricket Club vs Air Force Sports Club

The visiting Galle Cricket Club played Air Force Cricket Club at the Army ground in Dombagoda. Galle batting first got off to a decent start but kept losing wickets at regular intervals as the score stood at 192 for the loss of 8 wickets with Sampath Perera picking up 3 wickets for the Airmen.

Kevin Koththigoda guided the Galle club to 253 as Ravindu Sanjana wrapped up the Galle innings in the 79th over, picking up 3 wickets for 18 runs. Air Force was 17 for the loss of one wicket at stumps.

Brief scores

Galle Cricket Club 253 (78.1 overs)

Lakshan Rodrigo 48, Kevin Koththigoda 48, Harsha Vithana 45, Nisal Randika 43, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 27, Ravindu Sanjana 3/18, Sampath Perera 3/49, Umega Chathuranga 2/50


Air Force Sports Club  17/1 (9 overs)

Kalutara Town Club vs Lankan Cricket Club

After a fantastic performance from Shifran Muthalif, day two commenced in a more prominent fashion in Panagoda after the Lankan Cricket Club bowled out Kalutara Town Club for 183 yesterday.

The Lankans were in sublime touch as they easily went pass the Kalutara team total by the 60th over of the day thanks to a brilliant performance by skipper Chanaka Ruwansiri. Unfortunately, Ruwansiri fell nine runs short of a well-deserved century.

Maduranga Soyza took over the reins as he went past the fifty-run mark guiding the Lankans to 248 for the loss of 6 wickets by Tea. Lankan Cricket Club rose to 313 before being bowled out in the 98th over. Kalutara Town Club were on 19 for the loss of one at stumps

Brief scores

Kalutara Town Club 183 (71.2 overs)

Nipuna Gamage 68, Shifran Muthalif 6/40, Ayantha de Silva 2/44 & 19/1 (6)


Lankan Cricket Club 313 (97.1 overs)

Chanaka Ruwansiri 91, Geeth Kumara 73, Rishen Rodrigo 47, Maduranga Soysa 26, Sanjula Abeywickrama 25, Pasindu Madushan 6/102, Eranga Rathnayake 2/62

Bloomfield Cricket & Athletic Club vs Navy Sports Club

Bloomfield was in transcendent batting form in another Tier B encounter at Welisara, thrashing the Navy bowlers to all parts of the ground. Sanoj Perera top scored for Bloomfield with 99 runs whilst Asel Sigera and Sachin Jayawardane chipped in with valiant fifties.

In the bowling department Kavika Dilshan picked up 6 wickets for the seamen while leg spinner Dushan Hemantha picked up 3 wickets. Bloomfield was eventually bowled out for 371 in the 102nd over.

Navy were in all sorts of disarray as Aravinda Premaratne and ex- Thomian skipper Madushan Ravichandrakumar restricted the seamen to 183 for the loss of 8 wickets by late afternoon. The seamen were on 239 for the loss of 9 wickets at stumps.

Brief scores

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club 371 (102 overs)

Sanoj Perera 99, Asel Sigera 84, Sachin Jayawardane 66, Madushan Ravichandrakumar 46, Kavika Dilshan 6/109, Dushan Hemantha 3/107


Navy Sports Club 239/9 (79 overs)

Dilan Chandima 73, Supun Leelarathne 25, Shewon Fonseka 57*, Aravinda Premarathne 3/37, Madushan Ravichandrakumar 4/53

Panadura Sports Club vs Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club

Panadura Sports club hosted Kurunegala youth club in their backyard in another Tier B fixture this morning. Put in to bat first the Kurunegala batsmen were in fine touch racing their way to 383 for the loss of 9 wickets with all-rounder Dinushka Malan leading the Kurunegala batting outfit.  

Kurunegala Youth Club was eventually bowled out for 407 with Dinushka Malan unbeaten on 107. Navin Kavikara picked up 4 wickets for 121 whilst Imranullah Aslam picked up 2 wickets for 68 runs. Batting second, Panadura Sports Club was on 36 for no loss at stumps.

Brief scores

Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club 407 (81.4 overs)

Dinushka Malan 107*, Rasanjana Jayarathna 70, Shalika Karunanayake 79, Dhanushka Dharmasiri 55, Thusith De Soyza 25, Sameera Sandamal 25, Lahiru Jayarathne 20, Navin Kavikara 4/121, Imranullah Aslam 2/68


Panadura Sports Club 36/0 (6 overs)