Bhanuka, Denuwan and Kosala centuries take center-stage Day 2

SLC Premier League


Another batting day in the Plate Championship of the SLC Premier League ended today. Here’s a round up of today’s play.

Negombo CC v Ragama CC

Ragama consolidated their innings after Negombo posted 474 runs for their first innings at Katunayake. Play resumed on Day 2 with Negombo CC with 312 on board. Prasanna Jayamanne who was unbeaten on 66 soldiered on to get an unbeaten 122 which propelled his side over the 450 runs mark. Sanjaya Chathuranga was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 38.

In response Ragama were 127 for 2 with former Peterite opening batsman unbeaten on 41 and Saminda Fernando on 51.

Negombo Cricket Club 474/9 (130.2) Lasith Croospulle 157, Prasansana Jayamanne 122*, Ashen Silva 46, Dilan Jayalath 44, Angelo Jayasinghe 36, Sahan Arachchige 31, Amila Aponso 2/103, Sanjaya Chaturanga 4/38


Ragama Cricket Club 127/2 (47) Dineth Thimodya 41*, Saminda Fernando 51*, Roshen Fernando 2/21

Badureliya CC v SL Port Authority CC

Centuries from Denuwan Rajakaruna and Kosala Kulasekara pushed Badureliya into a dominating position at stumps on Day 2 in their match against SL Ports Authority at Colombo. Both Denuwan and Kosala were unbeaten overnight and they managed to put together a mammoth 111 run partnership for the 8th wicket. Both reached their centuries but Kosala remained unbeaten on 108 while Denuwan top scored with 117. Imesh Udayanga was the pick of the bowlers with 5 for 125.

Read : Lasith Croospulle and Salinda Ushan slam brilliant centuries

In response, SL Ports Authority were in trouble at 2 for 37. But, an unbeaten century by Adeesha Nanayakkara helped them end the day with 233 for 5 on board.

Badureliya Cricket Club 473/9 d (119) Denuwan Rajakaruna 117, Kosala Kulasekara 108*, Salinda Ushan 103, Tatenda Taibu 45, Sachith Pathirana 23, Imesh Udayanga 5/125, Chanaka Komasaru 2/175


Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC 233/5 (61) Adeesha Nanayakkara 101*, Gihan Rupasinghe 41, Yohan de Silva 33, Gayan Maneeshan 30, Buddika Sanjeewa 2/58, Alankara Asanka 2/49

Moors SC v Burgher Recreation Club

A blistering century by Bhanuka Rajapaksha and half centuries from Savin Gunasekara and Duvindu Thilakarathne helped them take a lead in the first innings against Moors at Colombo. The game resumed with BRC 47 for 1 on board. After the early loss of opening batsman Deshan Dias, Savin Gunasekara and Bhanuka Rajapaksha put together 189 for the 3rd wicket with Bhanuka slamming 108 off 99 balls with 6 maximums and 7 boundaries. Savin played a more reserved role as he stroked 93, missing out on a first class century.

Tharidu Kaushal managed to pick up 6 for 127 as BRC finally were bowled out for 430 runs. At stumps on Day 2, Moors were 4 for 1 in their 2nd innings, still trailing by 105 runs.

Moors Sports Club 321 (75.5) Chamara Silva 81, Pabasara Waduge 68, Anuk Fernando 53, Lahiru Attanayake 45, Charitha Kumarasinghe 21, Duvindu Tillakaratne 3/41, Tillakaratne Sampath 3/93, Mohamed Shiraz 2/85  & 4/1 (1.5)


Burgher Recreation Club 430 (93.4) Bhanuka Rajapaksa 108, Savin Gunasekara 93, Duvindu Thilakarathne 53, Rumesh Buddika 37, Vikum Sanjaya 37, Deshan Dias 31, Tharindu Kaushal 6/127, Ramesh Mendis 3/85