CL Synergy and Hayleys qualify for the Final

30th Singer-MCA Super Premier League 2023 – Knockout Stage


CL Synergy Limited and Hayleys Group qualified to the Final of the 30th Singer-MCA Super Premier Knock-Out Tournament 2023.

CL Synergy Limited registered a comprehensive 8-wicket win over Fairfirst Insurance in the first Semi-final encounter played today at FTZ Sports Complex (BOI) in Katunayake.

Fairfirst Insurance opted to bat first after winning the toss, but a terrible batting effort restricted them to just 62 runs. The left-arm spinner Dilum Sudeera and off-spinner Sahan Arachchige starred with the ball for CL Synergy Limited, picking up 3 wickets each.

CL Synergy cruised to the target with ease, consuming only 6.5 overs. The opening batter Navod Paranavithana stroked an unbeaten 38 runs off 24 balls with 6 fours.

Hayleys Group – A recorded a comfortable win over CDB Finance in the second Semi-final encounter, which was worked off today at MCA Ground, Colombo.

After winning the toss, CDB Finance opted to bat first but were restricted to a below par score of 205 runs. National capped batters Oshada Fernando (65) and Dhananjaya de Silva (48) contributed with significant scores, but they were not enough for CDB Finance to put on a substantial score on the board.

The left-arm spinner Prabath Jayasuriya continued his wicket-taking form, picking up a 5-wicket haul for Hayleys.

It was a walk in the park win for Hayleys as they chased down the target in the 31st over with 7 wickets in hand. The top order batters T. M. Sampath and Ron Chandraguptha led the way in the run-chase with match winning half-centuries.

Brief Scores

Fairfirst Insurance 62 (31.1) Anuk Fernando 36, Dilum Sudeera 3/10, Sahan Arachchige 3/17, Isuru Udana 2/11,

CL Synergy Limited 63/2 (6.5) Navod Paranavithana 38*, Chamindu Wickramasinghe 22

Result – CL Synergy Limited won by 8 wickets

Citizen Development Business (CDB) Finance – A 205 (41.1) Oshada Fernando 65, Dhananjaya De Silva 48, Sithara Gimhan 26, Prabath Jayasuriya 5/65, Santhush Gunathilaka 3/25, Avishka Fernando 2/09,

Hayleys – A 209/3 (30.1) T M Sampath 61, Ron Chandraguptha 57, Ashen Bandara 41*, Nuwanidu Fernando 40*, Lakshan Sandakan 2/49

Result – Hayleys – A won by 7 wickets