Sri Sumangala College crowned Division II Tier A Champions

Under 19 Schools Cricket 2020/21


Sri Sumangala College emerged champions of U19 Schools Division II Tier A Limited Over Cricket Tournament as they defeated St. John’s College in the Final worked off today (30th April) at BRC Grounds in Colombo.  

St. John’s College, Panadura vs Sri Sumangala College, Panadura

Due to the prevailing weather conditions in Colombo, the final encounter between St. John’s College and Sri Sumangala College was reduced to a 36-over contest. 

Read: Royal and St. Joseph’s secure Final berths

St. John’s College skipper won the toss and chose to bat first but the decision backfired as they were bowled out for just 68 runs in 33.4 overs. The left-arm spinner Vishva Lahiru and right arm seamer Charuka Jayathilaka demolished the batting lineup of St. John’s sharing 8 wickets among them. 

Read: Bandara-Kamil mammoth partnership put Antonians on top

It was a walk in the park for Sri Sumanagala College as they cruised towards victory in the 20th over losing only 4 wickets. The number three batsman Mihiranga Fernando carried his side to the victory, unbeaten on 36 runs.  

Read: Devapathiraja and Mahinda to clash in Final

Brief Scores

Venue – BRC Grounds, Colombo   

Toss – St. John’s College 

St. John’s College 68 (33.4) Vishva Lahiru 5/12, Charuka Jayathilaka 3/14

Sri Sumangala College 69/4 (19.3) Mihiranga Fernando 36*, Dinushka Madushan 2/06   

Result – Sri Sumangala College won by 6 wickets