Mohammad Akram and Shashrika Pussegolla shine with the ball

Fair and Lovely MCA B Division Cricket


Here’s the roundup of matches which concluded in the 2nd Fair and Lovely MCA B Division Cricket Tournament 2019 on Saturday. 

Citizen Development Business v John Keels Holdings

JKH B registered a tough 3-wicket win against CDB at BRC grounds. CDB won the toss and elected to bat first but their innings was chaotic as wickets tumbled in quick succession. Former Thomian Skipper Shashrika Pussegolla bagged 4 for 25 to restrict CDB to just 133 runs.

The chase wasn’t as smooth as JKH would have liked it as their top order crumbled, but two gritty cameos from Ashan Pieris and Malinga Amarasinghe got them over the line with three wickets in hand.

Result: JKH won by 3 wickets.

Citizen Development Business (CDB) 133 (34.3) Chaturanga Madawansa 42, Shaluka Silva 24*, Shashrika Pussegolla 4/25, Tharindu Rathnayaka 2/30 


John Keells Holdings (B) 134/7 (29.5) Ashan Peiris 39, Malinga Amarasinghe 30, Madushan Ravichandrakumar 3/34

Expolanka v Commercial Credit

Expolanka got back to winnings way with comfortable 7-wicket win against Commercial Credit at the MCA grounds. After winning the toss, Expolanka decided to bowl first and managed to restrict CC to just 161 runs. The CC batters got good starts, but failed to capitalize. Madura Lakmal was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 24.

Tharushan’s all-round show takes Kanrich ‘B’ to victory

Former Lumbini College captain Tharushan Iddamalgoda’s three wicket haul and 49 runs helped Kanrich Finance ‘B’ beat Expolanka……

The Expolanka chase was done with ease as Dilan Jayalath and Vishwa Chathuranga laid the foundation with a brisk partnership to start things off. Expolanka took only 27.5 overs to get to the target and they did so with 7 wickets in hand.

Result: Expolanka won by 7 wickets

Commercial Credit (B) 161 (47.2) Nilusha Uttamadasa 37, Sammika Ruwan 25, Adeesha Thilanchana 25, Sanitha de Mel 24, Madura Lakamal 3/24, Neranjan Wanniarachchi 2/35, Lloyd Speering 2/14


Expolanka Holdings (A) 163/3 (27.5) Dilan Jayalath 68, Vishwa Chathuranga 42, Nadeera Prabath 23*

HNB v Unilever Sri Lanka 

Mohammad Ikram’s five wicket haul helped HNB register a 10 wicket victory against Unilever at the P Sara Oval. The Bankers won the toss and elected to bowl first and Ikram struck early in the innings, causing a few problems for the Unilever boys. They crumbled for just 96 runs as Asanka Silva top scored with 33 runs.

HNB did not waste any time as they chased down the target in just 19.2 overs with Sawan Prabash scoring an unbeaten 58.

Result: HNB won by 10 wickets.

Unilever Sri Lanka 96 (32) Asanka Silva 33, Mohammed Ikram 5/45, Sajeewa Weerakoon 2/08, Madawa Warnapura 2/08 


Hatton National Bank (A) 99/0 (19.2) Sawan Prabash 58*, Deshan Dias 40*