Dominant St. Joseph Vaz clinch 12th Battle of the Fraternal

12th Battle of the Fraternal


The 12th Battle of the Fraternal between St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa and St. Mary’s College, Chilaw played yesterday (17th May) and today (18th May) at BOI Grounds in Katunayake.

>>Photos – St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa Big Match Preview 2023

St. Mary’s College captain Shaveen Weerasooriya won the toss and invited St. Joseph Vaz College to bat first. Most of their batters got to a decent start, but no one was able to convert the big start to a big score as they were bowled out for just 191 runs. Skipper Menusha Perera was the top scorer with a 29-run knock while Suhada Fernando and Kavindu Nishara scored 25 and 24, respectively.

With the ball in hand, Rashitha Shenul bagged 3/18 while George Fernando and Nivon Pinto took a couple of wickets apiece. Apart from them, Chamindu Nethsara, Shaveen Weerasooriya and Sathishka Rukshan shared three wickets between them.

>>2nd Battle of the Warriors ends in a draw

In reply, St. Mary’s College got a terrible start with their first five batters departed before troubling the scorers. George Fernando scored 12 as their chief scorer as they were falling apart for 41. Suhada Fernando bowled an absolutely stunning spell to grab 7 wickets for just 9 runs and was the real threat to opposite batters.

After asking to follow on, once again St. Mary’s College showed such a disappointing show with the bat, being bowled out for 80 and once again, George Fernando scored 33 as their top run-scorer. At this time, Raveen Chethana bowled quite impressive spell of 5/3 in 8 overs, including 3 maidens. First-innings destroyer, Suhada Fernando picked another three as he recorded a remarkable 10-wicket haul.

>>Moralians break Sri Sumangala winning streak to clinch 30th One Day Encounter

In the end, St. Joseph Vaz College secured a massive win to beat St. Mary’s College by an innings & 75 runs to become victorious in the 12th Battle of the Fraternal.

12th Battle of the Fraternal – Awards

Man of the Match – Suhada Fernando

Best bowler – Suhada Fernando

Best batsman – George Fernando

Best fielder – Raveen Chethana

>>St. Joseph’s defeat St. Peter’s to regain Rev. Fr Peter Pillai Memorial Shield

Brief Scores:

St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa 196 (62.3) Menusha Perera 29, Suhada Fernando 25, Kavindu Nishara 24, Kavith Fernando 21, Rashitha Shenul 3/18, George Fernando 2/37

St. Mary’s College, Chilaw 41 (29.5) George Fernando 12, Kavindu Akash 9, Suhada Fernando 7/9, Menusha Perera 1/1, Raveen Chethana 1/4, Vishwa Rajapaksha 1/16 & 80 (38.2) George Fernando 33, Dasun Hansaka 18, Ravindu Ushan 12, Raveen Chethana 5/3, Suhada Fernando 3/27, Ravindu Thushara 1/23

Result: St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa won by an innings & 75 runs.

<<< More Cricket News >>>