Western Province Central emerged as the champions of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) U19 Provincial Limited Overs Tournament 2018 as they defeated Western Province North by 16 runs in the final match held today at Colombo Cricket Ground.

Western Province North skipper Ashan Fernando won the toss and opted to field first at Colombo Cricket Ground. Skipper Santhush Gunathilaka and left handed stroke maker Sithara Hapuhinna opened the batting for Western Province Central but their partnership lasted for only 3.1 overs as the former was caught behind for just 4 runs.

Kalana Perera and Dunith Wellalage guide WP Central to final

Two matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) U19 Provincial Limited Overs Tournament 2018 concluded today…

Left handed Kamil Mishara joined Sithara Hapuhinna in the middle and built a valuable 45-run partnership for the second wicket. After the dismissal of Sithara Hapuhinna for 15 runs, Kamil Mishara and Pasindu Sooriyabandara then met at the crease and built a fabulous 98-run partnership for the third wicket.

Photos: Northern Province Vs North Western Province | U19 Provincial One Day Tournament 2018

Kamil Mishara stroked 72 runs while Pasindu Sooriyabandara made 56 runs for Western Province Central. After their dismissals, there was no significant partnership between other batsmen as they were bowled out for 225 runs in 48.4 overs. After being 151 for 2, they lost 8 wickets for just 74 runs.

Right arm seamer Avishka Tharindu, a product of St. Anthony’s College in Wattala was the pick of the bowlers as he grabbed 3 wickets for 38 runs for Western Province North. In addition, off spin bowlers Mahesh Theekshana and Ravindu Fernando took 2 wickets each.

Pasindu Sooriyabandara stars again for Western Province Central

Provincial Limited Overs Tournament 2018 were concluded today at Colombo. Southern Province…

Chasing 226 runs to win, Shehan Fernando and skipper Ashan Fernando opened the innings for Western Province North. They got off to the worst possible start as Shehan Fernando was dismissed by left arm seamer Kalana Perera for no score in the very first over.

Photos: Photos: Northern Province Vs North Western Province | U19 Provincial One Day Tournament 2018

Mohomed Samaz, a product of Zahira College then joined skipper Ashan Fernando and built a 86-run partnership for the second wicket. Unfortunately, Mohomed Samaz ran himself out for well-made 49 runs in the 18th over. After that dismissal, Western Province North batsmen lost their way and at one stage were 122 runs for 6 wickets.

However, right handed batsmen Avishka Tharindu (32) and Ravindu Fernando (28) tried to rescue the innings with a 53-run partnership for the seventh wicket but it was not enough as they were restricted to 209 runs in the allotted 50 overs. Left arm spinner Sonal Dinusha bowled a brilliant spell claiming 4 wickets for 22 runs in his quota of 10 overs. 

Full Scorecard


Full Scorecard

Western Province Central


(48.4 overs)


Western Province North


(50 overs)

WPC won by 16 runs

Western Province Central’s Innings

S.Gunathilake c Kamesh Nirmal b Praveen Nimesh411
S.Hapuhinna c Ashan Fernando b Avishka Tharindu1527
K.Mishara c Shehan Fernando b Pasindu Ushetti7297
P.Sooriyabandara lbw by Ravindu Fernando5684
Sonal Dinusha b Ravindu Fernando03
Avishka Perera b Avishka Tharindu3034
Lakshitha Rasanjana st Kamesh Nirmal b Mahesh Theekshana1216
K.Perera b Mahesh Theekshana12
D.Wellalage (runout) Avishka Tharindu1312
Chamindu Wijesinghe b Avishka Tharindu35
Ashain Daniel not out22
225/10 (48.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-8, 2-53, 3-151, 4-151, 5-170, 6-192, 7-200, 8-213, 9-222, 10-225
Chamika Gunasekara92350 3.89
Praveen Nimesh50301 6.00
Avishka Tharindu7.40393 5.27
Mahesh Theekshana90472 5.22
Ravindu Fernando101362 3.60
Pasindu Ushetti80371 4.63

Western Province North’s Innings

Shehan Fernando c Sonal Dinusha b Kalana Perera06
Ashan Fernando lbw by Sonal Dinusha3454
Mohomed Samaz (runout) Dunnith Wellalage4953
Kamesh Nirmal st Sithara Happuhinna b Dunnith Wellalage07
Kevin Perera c Lakshitha Rasanjana b Sonal Dinusha1731
Avishka Tharindu b Sonal Dinusha3268
Mahesh Theekshana c Lakshitha Rasanjana b Ashain Daniel918
Ravindu Fernando c Lakshitha Rasanjana b Sonal Dinusha2825
Praveen Nimesh (runout) Kamil Mishara36
Pasindu Ushetti not out1115
Chamika Gunasekara not out1617
209/9 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-0, 2-86, 3-88, 4-88, 5-110, 6-122, 7-175, 8-181, 9-182
K.Perera91471 5.22
S.Gunathilake40160 4.00
Chamindu Wijesinghe70330 4.71
D.Wellalage101402 4.00
Ashain Daniel100501 5.00
Sonal Dinusha102224 2.20