All-rounder Nipun Dhananjaya guides St. Joseph Vaz to victory

Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament 2019/20

The Group D fixture between St. Joseph Vaz College and Zahira College in the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Two Day Cricket Tournament 2019/20 worked off today at Colombo. All-round skills of Nipun Dhananjaya and Menusha Perera’s brilliant bowling efforts guided St. Joseph Vaz College to a comprehensive victory over Zahira College. 

Yasiru and Dilmin star as Thomians register innings victory

Zahira College, Colombo vs St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa

St. Joseph Vaz College managed to register a comprehensive 8-wicket victory over Zahira College in their Group D fixture which concluded today at Zahira College Grounds in Colombo. The hosts resumed their second innings on day two at 13 runs for 2 wickets and added another 101 runs to the overnight score as they were bowled out for 114 runs in 30.4 overs. 

Naveen earns outright win in season opener for Maris Stella

Sri Lanka U19 cap, Mohommed Shamaz top scored with 32 runs for the hosts. All-rounder Nipun Dhananjaya who leads Sri Lanka U19, showed his skills with the ball taking 4 scalps for 25 runs. Menusha Perera who grabbed a 4-wicket haul in the first innings, took 4 wickets for 41 runs for the visitors. 

St. Joseph Vaz College chased down the target of 35 runs in 6.5 overs with 8 wickets in hand. Nipun Dhananjaya remained unbeaten on 33 runs. Off spinner Imitiyas Slasa who picked up 2 wickets in the first innings grabbed another 2 wickets for 17 runs. 

Dilum Sudeera dismantles Thurstan line-up

Brief scores

Zahira College – 77 (27.3) Mohommed Dilhan 23, Menusha Perera 4/06, Achintha Fernando 2/04, Kavindu Maduranga 2/07 & 114 (30.4) Mohommed Shamaz 32, Rizwan Raahid 20, Nipun Dhananjaya 4/25, Menusha Perera 4/41, Tharusha Fernando 2/28

St. Joseph Vaz College – 157 (56.3) Nipun Dhananjaya 41, Menusha Perera 40, Ishad Roheim 3/13, Rizwan Rahim 2/16, Imitiyas Slasa 2/20 & 38/2 (6.5) Nipun Dhananjaya 33*, Imitiyas Slasa 2/17 

Result – St. Joseph Vaz College won by 8 wickets