Richmond enters third straight limited over finale

Singer U19 Division I Limited Overs Tournament 2018/19


Richmond College Galle and Thurstan College Colombo advanced to the final and the semi final respectively, in the Singer U19 Division I Limited Overs tournament 2018/19. The winners of the 2nd semi final between Thurstan College and S. Thomas’ College will meet Richmond College in the final.

Read: St. Joseph’s, S. Thomas’ and Royal record decisive victories

Prince of Wales College vs Richmond College – Semi Final

The first semi final, played at a neutral venue with coloured clothing and white ball, was worked off at Moors Cricket grounds between defending champions Richmond College and Prince of Wales College.

The boys from Galle posted a modest 208 after winning the toss and batting first. Sri Lanka U19 cap Sandun Mendis top-scored for the Richmondites with 50 runs as he together with Dilun Sudheera put on 70 vital runs for the 5th wicket after they lost 4 wickets for 51 runs.

Before that the captain and Sri Lanka U19 cap Thaveesha Abishek looked in sublime form before he was dismissed off a peach for 34. Batting at number 8 Dimuth Sandaruwan played a very important cameo scoring 33 runs to help Richmond go past 200.

Photos: Prince of Wales College vs Richmond College | U19 Division I One Day Tournament 2018/19 – SF

Off-spinners Lakshan Perera and Kavinda De Mel shared 5 wickets among them while Cambrians’ go-to bowler Kaumal Nanayakkara picked up 2 important wickets.

The run-chase never looked good for the Moratuwa boys as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Apart from opener Tharindu Amarasinghe’s 24 none of the remaining batsmen got going.

Coming after a stellar performance in the quarter final with a 7-wicket haul, speedster Amshi De Silva once again did really well for his team picking up 4 crucial wickets. He was well supported by Sri Lanka U19 cap left-arm spinner Dilum Sudeera with a 3-fer as the duo destroyed the Cambrian batting line-up.

Read: Amshi de Silva takes 7 as Richmond make Semis

Pasindu Pathum batting low down the order scored 41 consolation runs with the tail and looked in very good nick. Eventually with Pasindu’s dismissal Richmond recorded an easy 68-run victory and qualified to the final for the 3rd consecutive time. They also went on to win on the two previous occasions.

Richmond College Galle208 (47.4) Sandun Mendis 50, Thaveesha Abishek 34, Dimuth Sandaruwan 33, Vimud Sapnaka 29, Dilum Sudeera 26, Lakshan Perera 3/42, Kaumal Nanayakkara 2/31, Kavinda De Mel 2/40

Prince of Wales College Moratuwa140 (40.1) Pasindu Pathum 41, Tharindu Amarasinghe 24, Amshi De Silva 4/27, Dilum Sudeera 3/23


Thurstan College vs St. Benedict’s College – Quarter Final

The fourth and last quarter final of the Singer U19 Division I Limited Overs tournament 2018/19 was held today at Thurstan College grounds as the hosts took on St. Benedict’s College.

The visitors were bowled out for 171 runs after they won the toss and elected to take first lease of the wicket. Wicket keeper Shehan Fernando top-scored for the Bens with 47 while Dimara Ranathunge picked up 3 wickets being the chief destroyer of the Thurstan bowling attack. Anju Karunanayake and Chalaka Bandara also contributed with 2 wickets apiece.

Photos: St. Benedict’s College vs Thurstan College | U19 Division I One Day Tournament 2018/19 | QF

The hosts were cruising towards the required target as they neared the 3-figure mark with just 2 wickets lost but a sudden collapse in the middle order made them work really hard to crawl home.

Jayavihan Mahawithana who played a terrific innings held the Thurstan innings together and guided them to a thrilling win with just 1 wicket left. He remained unbeaten on 108 when his team crossed the line in the 38th over.

Thenuka Nandalal picked up 3 wickets for the Kotahena boys while Kaveesha Jayathilake and Maheesh Theekshana picked up 2 wickets each. Thurstan College will now meet S. Thomas’ College in the 2nd semi final.

St. Benedict’s College Kotahena171 (48.4) Shehan Fernando 47, Dimara Ranathunga 3/25, Anju Karunanayake 2/31, Chalaka Bandara 2/31

Thurstan College Colombo175/9 (37.2) Jayawihan Mahawitharana 108*, Yohan Liyanage 36, Thenuka Nandalal 3/45, Kaveesha Jayathilaka 2/16, Maheesh Theekshana 2/18