Tharanga blitz secure final berth for Team Colombo

SLC T20 League 2018 – Match 07 – Colombo Vs Galle

Upul Tharanga steered Team Colombo towards the Final.

Colombo Team continued their winning streak with an easy 7-wicket win over Team Galle, in the ‘SLC T20 League’ match 7 played at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium today.

Day 4 of the SLC T20 League got underway with the unbeaten Team Colombo taking on the resurgent Team Galle. Galle Skipper Dimuth Karunaratne once again won the toss and elected to bat first.

After winning their respective encounters yesterday, both teams had made a change each to their playing XIs. Fast bowlers Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep returned to competitive cricket after a lay-off due to injury, replacing Kasun Madushanka and Asitha Fernando for Galle and Colombo teams respectively.

Galle register first win; Kandy succumb in another thriller.

Team Galle recorded their first win in the SLC T20 League beating Kandy by a mere 7-run margin at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket…….

The same pair of Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Mendis opened the inning for Galle. But could not fire together once again as Dickwella nicked an outside-off-stump delivery off Nuwan Pradeep in the very first over of the match for the bowler to pick up an early wicket on his comeback.

Following the wicket of Dickwella, Karunaratne hit one up in the air to long off for Kamindu Mendis to take a strait forward catch of a Shehan Jayasuriya delivery. Dhananjaya de Silva joined Kusal Mendis and took the Galle team score to 66, adding 47 runs for the 3rd wicket in 6 overs.

Kusal Mendis perished once again after getting a good start when he was caught off Lahiru Madushanka for 36 in 25 balls. Dhananjaya de Silva thereafter added 29 runs for the 4th wicket with Angelo Perera before he was dismissed by Chathuranga de Silva for 44.

Colombo tops the table with another close victory

Colombo team managed to keep their unbeaten record intact as they registered their third consecutive win in the ‘SLC……

Skipper Dinesh Chandimal then brought in his main strike bowler Akila Dananjaya, and was immediately rewarded with a double strike dismissing both Angelo Perera and Asela Gunaratne in the same over. Dushmantha Chameera was also dismissed in the next over to see Galle reeling on 97/7.

 Photo Album: Colombo Vs Galle | SLC T20 LEAGUE

Moratuwa boy, Sri Lanka U19 wicket-keeper batsman Nishan Madushka scored a run-a-ball 19 towards the end of the Galle team innings to lift their score to a respectable 131.

Akila Dananjaya (4-0-28-3) and Jeewan Mendis (4-0-21-1) were the chief destroyers of the Galle innings. They were well-supported by Lahiru Madushanka, Shehan Jayasuriya and Chathuranga de Silva who contributed with 1 wicket each, and Nuwan Pradeep on his comeback game giving away just 15 runs in the 3 over’s he bowled also picking up a wicket.

The run-chase by the Colombo team was all about the Tharanga show. Upul Tharanga who has been in sublime form throughout the tournament once again blasted the Galle bowling to all parts of the ground as he smashed 81 in just 41 deliveries. He struck 8 fours and 5 sixes during his entertaining knock.

Captain Dinesh Chandimal who came into bat in the 2nd over after opener Avishka Fernando once again failed to impress, remained unbeaten on 38 off 38 balls, playing a supporting role to Tharanga.

Colombo team chased down the required target in just 16 over’s losing 3 wickets.

Dushmantha Chameera on his comeback was quite rusty bowling 2 no balls and 3 wides, but still finished with the best economy rate among the Galle bowlers. He picked up the price wicket of Tharanga and gave away only 27 runs. Apart from him, Kasun Rajitha with 2 wickets was the only other successful bowler for Galle.

With this win the Colombo team secures their place in the finals.


Full Scorecard

Team Galle


(20 overs)


Team Colombo


(16 overs)

Colombo won by 7 wickets

Team Galle’s Innings

Niroshan Dickwella c D.Chandimal b N.Pradeep05
Kusal Mendis c U.Tharanga b L.Madushanka3625
Dimuth Karunaratne c K.Mendis b S.Jayasuriya57
Dananjaya De Silva c sub (ML Udawatte) b C.De Silva4430
Angelo Perera lbw by A.Dananjaya611
Asela Gunaratne c A.Fernando b A.Dananjaya03
Nishan Madushka lbw by A.Dananjaya1919
Dushmantha Chameera lbw by J.Mendis01
Jeffrey Vandersay not out917
Nishan Peiris not out72
5 (lb 2, w 3)
131/8 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-0 (N Dickwella, 0.5 ov), 2-19 (D Karunaratne, 3.1 ov), 3-66 (K Mendis, 9.1 ov), 4-95 (D de Silva, 12.5 ov), 5-95 (A Perera, 13.1 ov), 6-96 (A Gunaratne, 13.6 ov), 7-97 (D Chameera, 14.2 ov), 8-124 (N Madushka, 19.4 ov)
Nuwan Pradeep30151 5.00
Lahiru Madushanka30221 7.33
Shehan Jayasuriya20141 7.00
Chathuranga De Silva40291 7.25
Akila Dananjaya40283 7.00
Jeewan Mendis40211 5.25

Team Colombo’s Innings

Avishka Fernando c D.Chameera b K.Rajitha64
Upul Tharanga c D.Karunaratne b D.Chameera8141
Dinesh Chandimal not out3838
Sammu Ashan c N.Dickwella b K.Rajitha210
Kamindu Mendis not out15
6 (nb 2, w 4)
134/3 (16 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-15 (A Fernando, 1.3 ov), 2-112 (U Tharanga, 10.5 ov), 3-124 (S Ashan, 13.6 ov)
Nishan Peiris30211 7.00
Kasun Rajitha40362 9.00
Dushmantha Chameera40271 6.75
Jeffrey Vandersay40400 10.00
Dananjaya De Silva10100 10.00