Three matches of the Singer Schools U19 Tournament kicked off today(17) with S. Thomas’, Nalanda and St. Benedict’s taking control of their respective games.

Trinity vs S. Thomas

Sithara Hapuhinna’s counter attacking 71* put the Thomians in the driver’s seat in their encounter against the Trinitians today.

Earlier in the day, Trinity college was restricted to 224 all out with Pavith Ratnayake bowling brilliantly to end up with a five wicket haul while Dellon Peiris chipped in with a couple of wickets.

None of the Trinity batsmen managed to go past the fifty run mark as they eventually folded up in the 65th over of the day.

The boys from Mount Lavinia reached 123/3 at stumps in just 27 overs as Hapuhinna led the way with his knock of 71* in just 54 balls. 

Meanwhile this game is also being played for the Ranil Abeynaike memorial trophy. 

Trinity College, Kandy 224 (64.5) Vimanga Sooriyanpola 36, Shanogeeth Shanmuganathan 35, Poorna Wanasekara 23, Hasintha Jayasuriya 26, Pavith Rathnayake 5/54, Dellon Peiris 2/40  

 S. Thomas College, Mt. Lavinia 123/3 (27) Sithara Hapuhinna 71*

Maliyadewa vs Nalanda

Nalanda College obtained first innings points already when the umpires decided to draw stumps on day one.

Taking first lease of the wicket, Maliyadewa were shot out for just 126 runs with only Dilshan Kollure showing some resistance with 65 runs. 

Lakshitha Rasanjana picked up four wickets for Nalanda while Kalana Perera and Asel Kulatunga picked up three each. 

In reply, Nalanda were bowled out for 206 moments before the close of play with Dasun Senevirathne top scoring with 66.

Damitha Silva who chipped in with 23 during the batting effort picked up a five wicket haul for Maliyadewa.

Maliyadewa College, Kurunegala 126 (40.3) Dilshan Kollure 65, Damitha Silva 23, Lakshitha Rasanjana 4/13, Kalana Perera 3/35, Asel Kulatunga 3/17  & 0/0 (1)  

Nalanda College, Colombo 206 (49) Dasun Senavirathne 66, Rusiru De Silva 27, Kalana Kathriarachchi 27, Kasun Sandrwan 23, Damitha Silva 5/46, Sanjeewan Priyadarshana 3/57, Kaveen Bandara 2/35

St. Benedict’s vs St. Joseph’s

St. Benedict’s batted deep into day one and registered a healthy first innings score of 282 all out at Darley Road.

Skipper Dinitha Basnayake top scored with 64 while former Josephian Shehan Fernando chipped in with a half century for the Benedictines.

Nipun Sumanasinghe picked up four wickets for the hosts while Ruchira Ekanayake bowled his heart out to capture a couple.

St. Benedict’s College, Colombo 282 (91.4) Dinitha Basnayake 64, Shehan Fernando 51, Dilan Chathuranga 42, Chalana Sankalpa 30, Mahesh Theekshana 21, Nipun Sumanasinghe 4/32, Ruchira Ekanayake 2/35  

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 3/0 (2)