Final squad named for Hong Kong tour

Sri Lanka u20 Rugby 7s team 2017

Sri Lanka selectors have named the final 12 man squad for the upcoming Asia under 20 sevens tournament to be played in Hong Kong on the 4th & 5th of August.

As expected former Thomian skipper Naveen Henakankanamge will be leading the Lankan outfit while experienced three-quarter Supun Dilshan will be assisting Naveen as vice-captain.

Meanwhile club players in the likes of Lahiru Herath, Adeesha Weerathunga (Navy) Wajid Fawmi and Sandesh Jayawickrama (Police) will be the experienced lads who will be seeking to carry their team through.

Read – Sri Lanka U20 7s – Squad and Rankings

Chamodh Fernando (IC), Avishka Lee (WC), Dinuk Amerasinghe (SACK) and Theekshana Dasanayake (SPC) will be the school leavers who impressed during the recently concluded Singer Schools’ Rugby League.

Furthermore, Suranga Bandara and Ranidu Padmasanka earned a call up following excellent Super 7’s and Mercantile 7’s tournaments.

Read Also – Naveen Henakankanamage to captain Sri Lanka U20

St. Joseph’s five-eight Chathura Seneviratne and Havelock winger Ramesh Fernando and Thanuja Maduranga who will have to settle down for a stand by position.

12-man squad

Naveen Henekankanamage (C) – (S. Thomas’)
Supun Dilshan (VC) – (Science / Navy SC)
Chamod Fernando – Isipathana
Adeesha Weerathunga – (Isipathana / Navy SC)
Wajid Fawmy – (Zahira / Police SC)
Sandesh Jayawickrama – (St. Peter’s / Police SC)
Theekshana Dasanayake – (St. Peter’s)
Suranga Bandara – (Prince of Wales’ / Police SC)
Lahiru Herath – (CWW Kannangara / Navy SC)
Ranindu Padmasanka – (Isipathana)
Avishka Lee – (Wesley)
Dinuk Amerasinghe (St. Anthony’s)

Stand by

Chathura Senavirathne – (St. Joseph’s)
Thanuja Maduranga – (Science / Navy SC)
Ramesh Fernando – (St. Peter’s / Havelock)