Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced a strong 15-member squad for the upcoming Youth Asia Cup 2017 in Malaysia.

U19 Youth Asia Cup Sri Lanka 2016 | News, photos, live scores, fixtures, stats

U19 Youth Asia Cup Sri Lanka 2016 | News, photos, live scores, fixtures, stats

The team will be led by Richmondite Kamindu Mendis while Josephian all-rounder Jehan Daniel will act as the deputy skipper.

The tournament will be played from 9th to 20th November in Kuala Lampur, Malayasia and it will feature eight teams – India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Malaysia and two teams each from the Western and Southern Region.

The last edition was held in Sri Lanka last year where India triumphed under lights in the final against the hosts at Khettarama. All the selected players are eligible to play the next ICC Youth World Cup 2018 in New Zealand.

Experienced players in Ashen Bandara, Hasitha Boyagoda, Nipun Ransika, Praveen Jayawickrama, Krishan Sanjula and Thisaru Rashmika Dilshan who have played for Sri Lanka U19s before has been named in the squad once again.

The selected team led by ambidextrous spinner, Mendis have been in continuous training since July this year as part of a larger squad of 44, and have been engaged in focused training sessions not only in their cricketing, but in lifestyle and personality development under SLC’s Holistic Player Development program.

India defeat Sri Lanka to retain U19 Youth Asia Cup

Sri Lanka U19s failed in their record-breaking chase as unbeaten India U19s retained their Youth Asia Cup…

The squad for the Asia Cup will travel to Kandy on the 16th to engage in training at the Centre of Excellence Kandy, due to the inclement weather currently being experienced in Colombo

The team is coached by former Sri Lanka batsman Roy Dias.

U19 squad 

Kamindu Mendis (Richmond College, Galle), Jehan Daniel (St. Joseph’s College, Colombo), Krishan Sanjula (De Mazenod College, Kandana), Ashen Bandara (St. Aloysius’ College, Galle), Hasitha Boyagoda (Trinity College, Kandy), Thisaru Rashmika Dilshan (Trinity College, Kandy), Praveen Jayawickrama (St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa), Nipun Ransika (P.De.S Kularathne Vidyalaya, Ambalangoda), Dhananjaya Lakshan (Richmond College, Galle), Nishan Madushanka Perera (Moratu Vidyalaya), Nuwanidu Fernando (St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa), Nipun Dhananjaya (St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa), Randeer Ranasinghe (St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala), Kalana Perera (S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia), Kevin Koththigoda (Mahinda College, Galle)

Stand-by players 

Vishva Chathuranga (Prince of Wales’ College, Moratuwa), Thilan Prashan (St. Servatius’ College, Matara), Ravindu Sanjana (St. Aloysius’ College, Galle), Hareen Buddhila (St. Aloysius’ College, Galle)