Home Cricket National Cricket Mathews hits double-ton as tame draw looms

Mathews hits double-ton as tame draw looms

Sri Lanka tour of Zimbabwe 2020 | 1st Test – Day 4

The first Test between hosts Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka at the Harare Sports Club ground will go the full length with two possible results on the final day. Sri Lanka may fancy their chances for a win by an innings with the lead they possess at the end of day 4 while Zimbabwe will most probably push for a draw.

Most of the day was just about Angelo Mathews and his memorable innings. Starting off the day by reaching his 10th Test ton, Mathews went on to become Sri Lanka’s 10th Test double centurion later on in the day. 

Mendis-Mathews combo put Sri Lanka on top

Sri Lanka’s other overnight batsman Dhananjaya De Silva couldn’t add much to his account as his brief stay ended soon after he reached his 6th Test fifty on day 4. He fell to  Zimbabwe’s most impressive bowler of the match, debutant pacer Victor Nyauchi, trying to up the scoring rate and ending up giving a catch mid-on.

One of Sri Lanka’s busiest batsmen, Niroshan Dickwella then joined Mathews following the Mathews-De Silva 98-run stand and added 136 runs for the 6th wicket, taking almost 45 overs. The slow scoring was a feature in the entire Lankan innings. Even with Zimbabwe having batted for more than 5 sessions, favorites to win the game, Sri Lanka showed zero urgency in scoring and pushing for a win. The wicket too didn’t show any major signs of becoming difficult for batting despite early predictions of breaking up to assist the spinners.

However, Zimbabwean part-time spinner Sikandar Raza then came into the act claiming 3 wickets. After trapping Dickwella in front of the stumps for 63 he dismissed Suranga Lakmal and Lasith Embuldeniya with consecutive deliveries. Lakmal was trying to add some impetus to the innings with an energetic knock of 27 which included 2 sixes while Embuldeniya played the wrong line in his very first delivery.

Zimbabwe’s new opening pair of Prince Masvaure and Kevin Kasuza’s concussion substitute (Kasuza was ruled out of the Test due to concussion), debutant Brian Mudzinganyama looked very cautious as they came out to bat in the last hour after Sri Lanka’s declaration following Mathews’ 200. 

The Lankan bowlers will have to try extremely hard if they are to take 10 wickets tomorrow. However, irrespective of the result, this game will be remembered in Sri Lanka cricket’s folklore for a landmark knock by one of Sri Lanka’s greatest Test batsmen, Angelo Mathews.


Sri Lanka
515/9 (176.2) & 14/0 (3)
358/10 (148) & 170/10 (92)
Prince Masvaure c Dimuth Karunaratne b Lasith Embuldeniya551497036.91
Kevin Kasuza lbw b Lahiru Kumara632145129.44
Craig Ervine b Suranga Lakmal851875345.45
Brendan Taylor lbw b Suranga Lakmal21471144.68
Sean Williams c Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya18461139.13
Sikandar Raza st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya41656063.08
Regis Chakabva c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya8201040.00
Donald Tiripano not out441033042.72
Kyle Jarvis b Lasith Embuldeniya150020.00
Ainsley Ndlovu c Kusal Mendis b Lahiru Kumara5251020.00
Victor Nyauchi c Lakshan Sandakan b Suranga Lakmal11291037.93
Extras6 (b 0 , lb 4 , nb 2, w 0, pen 0)
Total358/10 (148 Overs, RR: 2.42)
Fall of Wickets 1-96 (50.1) Prince Masvaure, 2-164 (75.3) Kevin Kasuza, 3-208 (91.5) Brendan Taylor, 4-247 (106.3) Sean Williams, 5-247 (107.2) Craig Ervine, 6-266 (114.2) Regis Chakabva, 7-307 (128.4) Sikandar Raza, 8-309 (130.1) Kyle Jarvis, 9-328 (139.1) Ainsley Ndlovu, 10-358 (147.6) Victor Nyauchi,
Suranga Lakmal27105331.96
Kasun Rajitha2995501.90
Lasith Embuldeniya421211452.71
Lahiru Kumara2988222.83
Dhananjaya de Silva2185002.38
Dimuth Karunaratne c Ainsley Ndlovu b Victor Nyauchi37784047.44
Oshada Fernando b Donald Tiripano21412051.22
Kusal Mendis c Brendan Taylor b Victor Nyauchi801638049.08
Angelo Mathews not out20046816342.74
Dinesh Chandimal c & b Sean Williams12321037.50
Dhananjaya de Silva c Prince Masvaure b Victor Nyauchi631127056.25
Niroshan Dickwella lbw b Sikandar Raza631203052.50
Suranga Lakmal st Regis Chakabva b Sikandar Raza27410265.85
Lasith Embuldeniya b Sikandar Raza01000.00
Kasun Rajitha lbw b Sean Williams160016.67
Extras11 (b 2 , lb 5 , nb 4, w 0, pen 0)
Total515/9 (176.2 Overs, RR: 2.92)
Fall of Wickets 1-32 (11.1) Oshada Fernando, 2-92 (28.6) Dimuth Karunaratne, 3-184 (66.2) Kusal Mendis, 4-227 (81.4) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-325 (116.2) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-461 (160.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-510 (173.4) Suranga Lakmal, 8-510 (173.5) Lasith Embuldeniya, 9-515 (176.2) Kasun Rajitha,
Kyle Jarvis37128402.27
Victor Nyauchi3276932.16
Donald Tiripano3138212.65
Ainsley Ndlovu28310703.82
Sean Williams32.2310423.23
Sikandar Raza1606233.88
Prince Masvaure c Niroshan Dickwella b Suranga Lakmal17582029.31
Brian Mudzinganyama lbw b Suranga Lakmal16622025.81
Craig Ervine c Dimuth Karunaratne b Suranga Lakmal7130053.85
Brendan Taylor c Kusal Mendis b Suranga Lakmal38585165.52
Sean Williams c Niroshan Dickwella b Kasun Rajitha39795049.37
Sikandar Raza st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya17551030.91
Regis Chakabva b Lasith Embuldeniya261421018.31
Donald Tiripano lbw b Lahiru Kumara661109.84
Kyle Jarvis b Lahiru Kumara115006.67
Ainsley Ndlovu b Lahiru Kumara07000.00
Victor Nyauchi not out03000.00
Extras3 (b 2 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total170/10 (92 Overs, RR: 1.85)
Fall of Wickets 1-33 (18.2) Prince Masvaure, 2-36 (20.3) Brian Mudzinganyama, 3-41 (22.3) Craig Ervine, 4-120 (44.3) Brendan Taylor, 5-120 (45.2) Sean Williams, 6-148 (62.1) Sikandar Raza, 7-159 (81.6) Donald Tiripano, 8-163 (85.6) Kyle Jarvis, 9-165 (89.4) Ainsley Ndlovu, 10-170 (91.6) Regis Chakabva,
Suranga Lakmal2082741.35
Kasun Rajitha1462311.64
Dhananjaya de Silva1161201.09
Lahiru Kumara2183231.52
Lasith Embuldeniya2687422.85

Oshada Fernando not out450080.00
Dimuth Karunaratne not out10131076.92
Extras0 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total14/0 (3 Overs, RR: 4.67)
Donald Tiripano20804.00
Victor Nyauchi10606.00

>>Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe 2020<<