Home Cricket National Cricket Mendis-Mathews combo put Sri Lanka on top

Mendis-Mathews combo put Sri Lanka on top

Sri Lanka tour of Zimbabwe 2020 | 1st Test – Day 3

Sri Lanka were at the driving seat at the stumps of day 3 of the 1st Test between Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka at Harare, as they are still trail by 63 runs with 6 wickets still in hand. Angelo Mathews is nearing his 10th Test ton while the other overnight batsman Dhananjaya de Silva is short of 8 runs for his 50-run milestone.

Zimbabwe amass 358 in 5 sessions despite Embuldeniya’s 5-fer

Zimbabwe ended the 2nd day of the 1st Test……..

Session 01

Sri Lanka resumed their 1st innings in reply to Zimbabwe’s 358 on the overnight score of 42/1 with the skipper Dimuth Karunaratne and No. 03 Kusal Mendis in the middle on 12 & 6 respectively. The pair showed intent to find boundaries as they played positively, attacking the Zimbabwean seamers from the first over.

In the last ball before drinks break, one of Karunaratne’s signature flicks through mid-wicket unfortunately ended up in the hands of Ainsley Ndlovu off Victor Nyauchi and the Sri Lankan skipper had to depart for 37. This is the 6th consecutive time Karunaratne failed to covert his decent starts to a big one.

Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka Test Series 2020 – Let’s Talk Numbers

Sri Lanka will meet Zimbabwe in a 2-match Test …….

From there onwards, the visitors remained unscathed in the morning session as Kusal Mendis and former skipper Angelo Mathews managed to see the team through to lunch, although there were a couple of run out chances missed by the Zimbabwean fielders. In the last over before lunch, a vigorous pull shot by Mendis hit Kevin Kasuza, who was at Short Leg, on the helmet, forcing him to be taken off the field due to him experiencing some dizziness. He did not return to field for the rest of the day.

Session 02

the post-lunch session was dominated by Mendis-Mathews partnership, as the pair guided Sri Lanka total past 180. Mendis, the aggressor of the partnership, looked solid as ever throughout out his innings, pulling out his bread and butter pull shot many times to deposit the ball beyond the boundary.

Mendis played magnificently for his 80 off 163 balls before a slight loss of concentration after 227 minutes, costing Mendis his wicket as he chased a wide one off Victor Nyauchi’s bowling, and nicked to wicket keeper Brendon Taylor.

Session 03

Two former skippers, Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal, joined in the middle after tea to cut down the deposit for Sri Lanka, but an unfortunate dismissal (bottom-edged the ball onto his boot, with the ball then being lobbed straight back to the bowler) led to Chandimal’s demise when he was on 12.

The next man in was Dhananjaya de Silva, who architected 2 centuries in his last 3 Test matches. De Silva did not waste any time to settle on the Harare pitch as he drew his flawless drives through cover and nonchalant pulls early in the innings, outshining his senior partner.

De Silva raced to 42 at the stumps of day 03, while Mathews’ slow and steady approach earned him 92 off 253 balls. Mathews played a really patient innings for Sri Lanka, restricting himself from his usual stroke play. Sri Lanka are still 63 runs behind of Zimbabwe’s 1st innings.


Sri Lanka
515/9 (176.2)
358/10 (148) & 30/0 (17)
Prince Masvaure c Dimuth Karunaratne b Lasith Embuldeniya551497036.91
Kevin Kasuza lbw b Lahiru Kumara632145129.44
Craig Ervine b Suranga Lakmal851875345.45
Brendan Taylor lbw b Suranga Lakmal21471144.68
Sean Williams c Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya18461139.13
Sikandar Raza st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya41656063.08
Regis Chakabva c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya8201040.00
Donald Tiripano not out441033042.72
Kyle Jarvis b Lasith Embuldeniya150020.00
Ainsley Ndlovu c Kusal Mendis b Lahiru Kumara5251020.00
Victor Nyauchi c Lakshan Sandakan b Suranga Lakmal11291037.93
Extras6 (b 0 , lb 4 , nb 2, w 0, pen 0)
Total358/10 (148 Overs, RR: 2.42)
Fall of Wickets 1-96 (50.1) Prince Masvaure, 2-164 (75.3) Kevin Kasuza, 3-208 (91.5) Brendan Taylor, 4-247 (106.3) Sean Williams, 5-247 (107.2) Craig Ervine, 6-266 (114.2) Regis Chakabva, 7-307 (128.4) Sikandar Raza, 8-309 (130.1) Kyle Jarvis, 9-328 (139.1) Ainsley Ndlovu, 10-358 (147.6) Victor Nyauchi,
Suranga Lakmal27105331.96
Kasun Rajitha2995501.90
Lasith Embuldeniya421211452.71
Lahiru Kumara2988222.83
Dhananjaya de Silva2185002.38
Dimuth Karunaratne c Ainsley Ndlovu b Victor Nyauchi37784047.44
Oshada Fernando b Donald Tiripano21412051.22
Kusal Mendis c Brendan Taylor b Victor Nyauchi801638049.08
Angelo Mathews not out20046816342.74
Dinesh Chandimal c & b Sean Williams12321037.50
Dhananjaya de Silva c Prince Masvaure b Victor Nyauchi631127056.25
Niroshan Dickwella lbw b Sikandar Raza631203052.50
Suranga Lakmal st Regis Chakabva b Sikandar Raza27410265.85
Lasith Embuldeniya b Sikandar Raza01000.00
Kasun Rajitha lbw b Sean Williams160016.67
Extras11 (b 2 , lb 5 , nb 4, w 0, pen 0)
Total515/9 (176.2 Overs, RR: 2.92)
Fall of Wickets 1-32 (11.1) Oshada Fernando, 2-92 (28.6) Dimuth Karunaratne, 3-184 (66.2) Kusal Mendis, 4-227 (81.4) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-325 (116.2) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-461 (160.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-510 (173.4) Suranga Lakmal, 8-510 (173.5) Lasith Embuldeniya, 9-515 (176.2) Kasun Rajitha,
Kyle Jarvis37128402.27
Victor Nyauchi3276932.16
Donald Tiripano3138212.65
Ainsley Ndlovu28310703.82
Sean Williams32.2310423.23
Sikandar Raza1606233.88

Prince Masvaure not out15522028.85
Brian Mudzinganyama not out14512027.45
Extras1 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total30/0 (17 Overs, RR: 1.76)
Suranga Lakmal52400.80
Kasun Rajitha32702.33
Dhananjaya de Silva32401.33
Lahiru Kumara411203.00
Lasith Embuldeniya21301.50

>>Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe 2020<<