Spinners bowl Sri Lanka U19s to consolation win


Sri Lanka U19s ended their three-match youth ODI series against Australia U19s with a comprehensive 64-run win in the third and final match on Monday at P. Sara Oval Grounds.

Despite losing this match, the visitors grabbed the trophy after they had won the first two matches.

Sri Lanka U19s fall short by 7 runs

The hosts were under tremendous pressure coming into this match, which prompted the team management to field three debutants in Thaveesha Abishek, Dilum Sudeera and Praveen Nimesh.

After opting to bat first, Kamil Mishara and his new opening partner, Abishek got themselves off to decent starts. But, Liam Marshall removed both the openers inside two overs. In between Marshall’s two scalps, number three batsman Mohammed Shamaz was trapped plumb in front by Zak Evans.

Photos: Australia U19 Team Tour to Sri Lanka 2019 | 3rd ODI

At 45 for 3, skipper Nipun Dananjaya and experienced Sonal Dinusha began the resurrection work for Sri Lanka. They added 106 runs before Dinusha fell right after he made his half-century. He struck 6 fours during his 68-ball stay.

Kamil Mishara century to no avail; Australia take lead

Just before the final powerplay began, Tanveer Sangha dismissed the highest scorer, Nipun Dananjaya and debutant Nimesh in the 40th over to restrict the home team to 188 for 6.

Left-handed Dananjaya slammed 4 fours and 2 sixes in a fine knock of 71, which came in 80 deliveries. Two useful contributions from Chamindu Wijesinghe and Rohan Sanjaya down the order, 28 and 20 respectively pushed the Lankan final score to 256 for 8 at the end of their allocated 50 overs.

  • Nipun Dananjaya

Chasing another stiff target of 257, the Australians were cruising at 94 for 1 in the 17th over, when their downfall began.

Photos: Australia U19 Team Tour to Sri Lanka 2019 – 2nd ODI

Left-arm spin trio of Rohan Sanjaya, Dilum Sudeera and Sonal Dinusha shared 9 wickets amongst them to bundle out the visitors to 192 in the 47th over.

The spinners maintained a strong stranglehold with their bowling discipline as Australia lost wickets at regular intervals. Wicket-keeper batsman Baxter Holt made a 51-ball 60 at the top of the order but none of the other batsmen reached 40.

Sangha delayed the inevitable with a gritty 39 down the order. But, the Lankan spinners had the final say.

Photos: Australia U19 Team Tour to Sri Lanka 2019 – 1st ODI

The only youth Test match between these two teams will be played from 10th to 12th January at SSC Grounds.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka U19


(50 overs)


Australia U19


(46.3 overs)

Sri Lanka U19’s Innings

TA Kahaduwaarachchi c Oates b Marshall1737
Kamil Mishara c & b Marshall2019
Mohamed Samaaz lbw by Evans15
Nipun Dananjaya c Kann b Sangha7180
Sonal Dinusha c Sutherland b Hearne5068
Praveen Nimesh st Holt b Sangha1428
Chamindu Wijesinghe c Sutherland b Evans2828
Sudheera Thilakarathne c Holt b Evans610
Ashan Daniel not out1110
Rohan Sanjaya not out2015
18 (lb 3, w 15)
256/8 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-33 (K Mishara, 8.2 ov), 2-34 (Mohamed Samaaz, 9.1 ov), 3-45 (TA Kahaduwaarachchi, 10.4 ov), 4-151 (GS Dinusha, 31.2 ov), 5-186 (PN de Silva, 39.1 ov), 6-188 (ND Perera, 39.4 ov), 7-222 (C Wijesinghe, 45.4 ov), 8-223 (DS Thilakaratne, 45.6 ov)
Matthew Willans80460 5.75
Zak Evans91393 4.33
Liam Marshall61222 3.67
Iain Carlisle60440 7.33
Lachlan Hearne41191 4.75
Keegan Oates60290 4.83
Tanveer Sangha101422 4.20
Josh Kann10120 12.00

Australia U19’s Innings

Baxter Holt c K Mishara b D Sudeera6051
Lachlan Hearne b A Daniel2227
Corey Hunter b S Dinusha1837
Josh Kann st K Mishara b R Sanjaya1015
Will Sutherland c K Mishara b R Sanjaya15
Keegan Oates c M Shamaaz b S Dinusha611
Matthw Willans st K Mishara b S Dinusha110
Tanveer Sangha c R Sanjaya b D Sudeera3969
Zak Evans c Kahaduwaarachchi b D Sudeera1740
Iain Carlisle c R Sanjaya b D Sudeera714
Liam Marshall not out00
11 (b 1, lb 3, w 7)
192/10 (46.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-49 (L Hearne, 8.2 ov), 2-94 (BJ Holt, 16.5 ov), 3-111 (J Kann, 19.5 ov), 4-117 (W Sutherland, 21.1 ov), 5-120 (CB Hunter, 23.1 ov), 6-124 (M Willans, 25.2 ov), 7-129 (K Oates, 27.4 ov), 8-168 (Z Evans, 42.2 ov), 9-192 (T Sangha, 46.2 ov), 10-192 (I Carlisle, 46.3 ov)
Dilshan Madushanka30220 7.33
Chamindu Wijesinghe40150 3.75
Praveen Nimesh10110 11.00
Ashan Daniel101331 3.30
Rohan Sanjaya90512 5.67
Dilum Sudeera9.30344 3.66
Sonal Dinusha100223 2.20