Prince Fernando put Cambrians on top

Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Three matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island. Prince Fernando starred with the bat for Prince of Wales College while Nadith Mishendra shone with the ball for Moratu Maha Vidyalaya.

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs Presidents College, Kotte

Group B fixture between Prince of Wales College and Presidents College commenced today at the Prince of Wales College grounds in Moratuwa. After being put into bat first, the hosts managed to post 266 runs for 9 wickets before declaring their innings with right handed stroke maker Prince Fernando (85) and Pasindu Pathum (55) starring with the bat for the Cambrians.

Photos: Thurstan College v Prince Of Wales College – Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

The President’s College batsmen did not begin their reply strongly as they were left struggling at 64 runs for 5 wickets at stumps on day one. In-form left arm spinner Kaumal Nanayakkara began his usual wicket hunting picking up 2 wickets for 12 runs. The match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Photos: Dharmapala College vs Ananda college | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Brief Scores

Prince of Wales College – 266/9d (71.2) Prince Fernando 85, Pasindu Pathum 55*, Tharindu Amarasinghe 22
Presidents College – 64/5 (32) Thevin Thewmika 21, Kaumal Nanayakkara 2/12

Ananda College, Colombo vs Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya

The Group D fixture between Ananda College and Dharmapala College commenced today at the Ananda College grounds in Colombo. The hosts’ skipper won the toss and had no hesitation to bat first in their own backyard and they managed to post 248 runs all out for their first innings.

Read More: Dharmashoka win despite Premadasa’s century

Kanishka Ranthilakage (58) and Kalana Wijesiri (41) top scored for the hosts. Dilshan de Silva and Vihanga Gunarathne shone with the ball for the visitors picking up 3 scalps each. In reply, Dharmapala opening batsmen posted 39 runs without conceding their wickets when umpires called stumps on day one. The match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief Scores

Ananda College – 248 (82.2) Kanishka Ranthilakage 58, Kalana Wijesiri 41, Kavindu Gimhana 38, Dilshan de Silva 3/37, Vihanga Gunarathne 3/50, Dulaj Egodage 2/33, Chamindu Samarasinghe 2/49

Dharmapala College – 39/0 (10) Malith Sandakalum 23*

Zahira College, Colombo vs Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Moratuwa

The traditional fixture between Zahira College and Moratu Maha Vidyalaya commenced today at Zahira College grounds in Colombo. The Zahira College skipper opted to bat first after winning the toss but a poor batting display restricted them to 118 runs. Nadith Mishendra picked up 7 wickets for 34 runs for the visitors.

Read More: DS Senanayake narrowly miss out on outright win

In reply, the hosts were also found struggled with the bat as they posted 100 runs for 6 wickets at stumps on day one. Madushan Dilakshana remained unbeaten on 42 runs for the Moratuwa boys. M Kalid and M Rifath shared 5 wickets between themselves shining with the ball for Zahira. The match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief Scores

Zahira College – 118 (43.3) Aravinth 21, M Shadulla 20, Nadith Mishendra 7/34, Eran Hansamal 2/43
Moratu Maha Vidyalaya – 100/6 (43) Maduhsan Dilakshana 42*, M Kalid 3/16, M Rifath 2/24