All-round Dane van Niekerk guides South Africa women to victory

Sri Lanka Women’s Tour of South Africa 2019


South Africa Women managed to register a comprehensive victory over the touring Sri Lanka Women in the 1st T20 match between the two sides which concluded today at Cape Town.

Squad overhaul for Sri Lanka Women’s tour of South Africa

Sri Lanka Cricket has named a youthful 15-member squad to tour…

Sri Lanka Chamari Athapatthu won the toss and opted to bat first with Hasini Perera and Anushka Sanjeewani opening the innings. The duo built a 20-run partnership for the first wicket before the latter was dismissed for 9 runs in the 4th over. Skipper Athapatthu then joined Perera and built a 24-run partnership for the second wicket before the latter was dismissed for 27 runs.

Photo Album : Galle vs Dambulla | Women’s Super Provincial Tournament 2018 | Final

Athapatthu (7) and Shashikala Siriwardana (6), the two seniors in the side did not make a significant contribution with the bat which restricted the visitors to 90 runs for 8 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Imalka Mendis remained unbeaten on 21 runs off 23 balls. Leg spinner Dane Van Niekerk was the pick of the bowlers for the hosts as she took 3 wickets for 12 runs in her allotted 4 overs.

ICC Women’s T20 World World Cup 2020 fixtures announced

The ICC Women’s T20 World World Cup 2020 will take place in Australia…

South Africa women chased down the target in 14.2 overs with 7 wickets remaining. Van Niekerk who shone with the ball earlier showed her batting credentials, scoring 71 runs off 55 balls with 13 boundaries.  Achini Kulasuriya, Nilakshi de Silva and Inoka Ranaweera picked up a wicket each for Sri Lanka.

Read : Galle women clinch inaugural Provincial super four title

With this victory, South Africa takes a 1-0 lead in the 3 match T20 series. The second T20 match between the two sides will be played on 3rd of February in Johannesburg.



Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka Women


(20 overs)


South Africa Women


(14.2 overs)

Sri Lanka Women’s Innings

Hasini Perera c L Goodall b V Niekerk2741
Anushka Sanjeewani c Sekhukhune b M Klaas99
Chamari Athapatthu b V Niekerk716
Shashikala Siriwardena c S Ismail b V Niekerk69
Nilakshi de Silva b Sekhukhune25
Imalka Mendis not out2123
Oshadi Ranasinghe (runout) T Brits57
Umesha Thimashini b M Klaas36
Udeshika Prabodhani (runout) Tunnicliffe03
Inoka Ranaweera not out63
4 (b 2, nb 2)
90/8 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-20 (MAA Sanjeewani, 3.5 ov), 2-44 (GWHM Perera, 10.1 ov), 3-50 (HASD Siriwardene, 12.2 ov), 4-51 (AC Jayangani, 12.6 ov), 5-53 (NND de Silva, 13.3 ov), 6-67 (OU Ranasinghe, 16.2 ov), 7-75 (U Thimashini, 17.5 ov), 8-83 (KDU Prabodhani, 19.2 ov)
Marizanne Kapp40180 4.50
Shabnim Ismail40180 4.50
Masabata Klaas40222 5.50
Dane van Niekerk40123 3.00
Tumi Sekhukhune40181 4.50

South Africa Women’s Innings

Dane van Niekerk not out7155
Tazmin Brits c I Mendis b A Kulasuriya1011
Marizanne Kapp c U Prabodhani b N de Silva58
Mignon du Preez b I Ranaweera44
Lara Goodall not out38
1 (w 1)
94/3 (14.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-25 (T Brits, 3.5 ov), 2-44 (M Kapp, 7.6 ov), 3-75 (M du Preez, 10.6 ov)
Udeshika Prabodhani2.20170 7.73
Achini Kulasuriya30141 4.67
Oshadi Ranasinghe30180 6.00
Nilakshi de Silva20141 7.00
Inoka Ranaweera20221 11.00
Shashikala Siriwardene2090 4.50