Black Caps clinch series with a massive win


New Zealand cleaned up the tail in the first hour to claim a massive win by 423 runs to clinch the series 1-0 at Christchurch today. 

12 minutes and 14 deliveries it took for the hosts to wrap up the Sri Lankan innings on the 5th day in what was a tough test match for the Sri Lankans . They had pretty much an impossible task to bat out an entire day with Suranga Lakmal and Dilruwan at the crease.

Day 4 Report: Sri Lanka manage to delay the inevitable

Boult was the destroyer with the ball today. He first got rid of Lakmal, who was stuck at the crease as the ball squeezed through bat-pad into the off stump. Then it was Dilruwan Perera who was undone by another Neil Wagner short ball. Chameera didn’t last long as he was found plumb in front giving Boult his 3rd wicket of the innings and 9th of the match.

There was no signs of Mathews, his injury would be adding salt to the wound for the Lankans as they will be needing him in the coming two months. 423 runs, is the worst ever defeat for the Lankans in terms of victory margin. It is also the 8th largest victory in Test history and largest for the Black Caps.

Read More: Angelo Mathews out of action for four weeks

Tim Southee was named man of the match for first inning performance with both bat and ball.


Full Scorecard

New Zealand

178/10 & 585/4

(153 overs)


Sri Lanka

104/10 & 236/10

(106.2 overs)

New Zealand ‘s 1st Innings

Jeet Raval c D Chandimal b S Lakmal624
Tom Latham c K Mendis b S Lakmal1030
Kane Williamson c N Dickwella b S Lakmal218
Ross Taylor (runout) L Kumara2746
Henry Nicholls b S Lakmal110
BJ Watling c D Perera b L Kumara4690
C de Grandhomme c D Chameera b L Kumara15
Tim Southee c D Gunathilaka b D Perera6865
Neil Wagner c K Mendis b S Lakmal07
Ajaz Patel c S Lakmal b L Kumara25
Trent Boult not out11
14 (b 6, lb 7, nb 1)
178/10 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-16 (J Raval, 8.3 ov), 2-17 (T Latham, 10.1 ov), 3-22 (K Williamson, 14.2 ov), 4-36 (H Nicholls, 18.5 ov), 5-57 (R Taylor, 25.3 ov), 6-64 (de Grandhomme, 27.1 ov), 7-172 (T Southee, 47.2 ov), 8-175 (N Wagner, 48.4 ov), 9-177 (BJ Watling, 49.2 ov), 10-178 (A Patel, 49.6 ov)
Suranga Lakmal195545 2.84
Lahiru Kumara144493 3.50
Angelo Mathews4160 1.50
Dushmantha Chameera81430 5.38
Dilruwan Perera51131 2.60

Sri Lanka’s 1st Innings

Danushka Gunathilaka c J Raval b T Southee831
Dimuth Karunarathne c K Williamson b T Southee79
Dinesh Chandimal c BJ Watling b T Southee69
Kusal Mendis c BJ Watling b de Grandhomme1532
Angelo Mathews not out3388
Roshen Silva c T Southee b T Boult2163
Niroshan Dickwella c T Southee b T Boult43
Dilruwan Perera lbw by T Boult04
Suranga Lakmal lbw by T Boult01
Dushmantha Chameera lbw by T Boult02
Lahiru Kumara lbw by T Boult04
10 (b 5, lb 5)
104/10 (41 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-10 (D Karunarathne, 5.2 ov), 2-20 (D Chandimal, 7.2 ov), 3-21 (D Gunathilaka, 9.4 ov), 4-51 (K Mendis, 17.1 ov), 5-94 (R Silva, 36.4 ov), 6-100 (N Dickwella, 38.1 ov), 7-100 (D Perera, 38.5 ov), 8-100 (S Lakmal, 38.6 ov), 9-104 (D Chameera, 40.2 ov), 10-104 (L Kumara, 40.6 ov)
Trent Boult158306 2.00
Tim Southee155353 2.33
Colin de Grandhomme60191 3.17
Neil Wagner50100 2.00

New Zealand ‘s 2nd Innings

Jeet Raval c K Mendis b D Perera74162
Tom Latham c N Dickwella b D Chameera176370
Kane Williamson c K Mendis b L Kumara4875
Ross Taylor lbw by L Kumara4044
Henry Nicholls not out162225
de Grandhomme not out7145
14 (b 5, lb 3, w 3, nb 3)
585/4 (153 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-121 (J Raval, 47.6 ov), 2-189 (K Williamson, 70.1 ov), 3-247 (R Taylor, 83.1 ov), 4-461 (T Latham, 138.3 ov)
Suranga Lakmal306960 3.20
Lahiru Kumara3261342 4.19
Dushmantha Chameera3051471 4.90
Dilruwan Perera4131491 3.63
Danushka Gunathilaka162450 2.81
Dimuth Karunarathne4260 1.50

Sri Lanka’s 2nd Innings

Danushka Gunathilaka c BJ Watling b T Southee47
Dimuth Karunarathne c BJ Watling b T Boult02
Dinesh Chandimal c H Nicholls b N Wagner56228
Kusal Mendis c M Henry b N Wagner67147
Angelo Mathews not out2254
Roshen Silva c BJ Watling b N Wagner1873
Niroshan Dickwella b T Southee1931
Dilruwan Perera c K Williamson b N Wagner2262
Suranga Lakmal b T Boult1825
Dushmantha Chameera lbw by T Boult38
Lahiru Kumara not out01
7 (b 4, lb 2, w 1)
236/10 (106.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-1 (D Karunarathne, 0.6 ov), 2-9 (D Gunathilaka, 1.5 ov), 3-126 (K Mendis, 54.5 ov), 4-158 (D Chandimal, 76.2 ov), 5-181 (N Dickwella, 85.1 ov), 6-208 (R Silva, 95.4 ov), 7-233 (S Lakmal, 104.3 ov), 8-233 (D Perera, 105.2 ov). 9-236 (D Chameera, 106.2 ov)
Trent Boult28.211773 2.73
Tim Southee2713612 2.26
Colin de Grandhomme101230 2.30
Neil Wagner2910484 1.66
Ajaz Patel129210 1.75