Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka U19s dreams crushed by the six off the penultimate ball

Sri Lanka U19s dreams crushed by the six off the penultimate ball

ICC U19 World Cup 2020

New Zealand U19s held on to a thrilling win in the group A encounter vs Sri Lanka in ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup at Bloemfontein, making their qualification to the Super League of the tournament almost a certainty.

Bowling and Fielding errors cost Sri Lanka U19s their tournament opener

Sri Lanka U19s participated in their first match of the ICC U19 World Cup 2020 today…

In the chase of 243 to win, it all came down to 6 runs from 2 balls for the Kiwis and the killer blow for Sri Lanka was struck by Kristian Clarke who launched Dilshan Madushanka for a six to seal the game for New Zealand.

Sri Lanka skipper Nipun Dhananjaya lost the toss and was invited to bat first on the Mangaung Oval pitch and Sri Lanka made a couple of changes from the previous match, bringing attacking batsman Ahan Wickaramasinghe and left-arm spinner Dilum Sudeera into the playing XI leaving seamers Amshi de Silva and Matheesha Pathirana on the bench.

Read: Did Matheesha Pathirana bowl the fastest ball in history?

The Sri Lanka top order failed to click again in search of a good score to defend as the New Zealand seamers reduced them to 141/6 before Ahan Wickaramasinghe and Sonal Dinusha put on a partnership of 78 runs to put Sri Lanka back on track.

Wickramsinghe, who is a top-order batsman, was sent at no.08 and he blasted a 48-ball 64 while Dinusha helped him with a cautious 46 runs to propel Sri Lanka U19s to 242. 

>>Watch- Ahan Wickramasinghe batting<<

In reply, New Zealand’s Rhys Mariu and Beckham Wheeler-Greenall partnered for the 3rd wicket to muster 111 runs, stroking 86 & 80 respectively which ultimately turned out to be vital for the final result. 

Sri Lanka spinners couldn’t deliver the expected impact with the ball as New Zealand saved wickets for a late flourish as the equation came down to 69 runs from the last 10 overs. A few run-outs hindered the Kiwis’ progress in the final overs, but odd boundaries kept them in the game as Sri Lanka leaked runs at the death.

>>Watch-Sonal Dinusha Powerplay<<

New Zealand looked confident for a comfortable victory when they required 26 runs in the last 3 overs with 7 wickets in hand but 4 wickets in the next 2 overs, swung the game in Sri Lanka’s favor. Needing 12 in the last over, all-rounder Kristian Clarke hit a six in the 599th ball of the match to close out the game for New Zealand. 

With this defeat, Sri Lanka has failed to progress to the quarter-finals of the tournament and this is the 2nd consecutive time that they finish out of the top 8. Sri Lanka U19s’ next match will be against Japan on 25th Saturday at Potchefstroom.  


Sri Lanka U19
242/9 (50)
New Zealand U19
243/7 (49.5)
Navod Paranavithana c Beckham Wheeler-Greenall b William O’Rourke23393058.97
Kamil Mishara c Quinn Sunde b Simon Keene21352060.00
Ravindu De Silva st Quinn Sunde b Jesse Tashkoff29440065.91
Thaveesha Abhishek c Quinn Sunde b Adithya Ashok25452055.56
Nipun Dananjaya c Quinn Sunde b Adithya Ashok03000.00
Sonal Dinusha c Kristian Clarke b Jesse Tashkoff46874052.87
Dilum Sudheera c Rhys Mariu b Adithya Ashok6330018.18
Ahan Wicrkamasinghe c Jesse Tashkoff b Kristian Clarke644890133.33
Kavindu Nadeeshan not out7710100.00
Ashian Daniel b Kristian Clarke01000.00
Extras21 (b 4 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 17, pen 0)
Total242/9 (50 Overs, RR: 4.84)
Did not batDilshan Madusanka,
Fall of Wickets 1-42 (8.5) Navod Paranavithana, 2-58 (13.4) Kamil Mishara, 3-106 (24.2) Thaveesha Abhishek, 4-106 (24.5) Nipun Dananjaya, 5-112 (27.5) Ravindu De Silva, 6-141 (36.1) Dilum Sudheera, 7-219 (47.1) Sonal Dinusha, 8-241 (49.3) Ahan Wicrkamasinghe, 9-242 (49.6) Ashian Daniel,
Joey Field925506.11
Kristian Clarke813624.50
William O’Rourke602313.83
Simon Keene704616.57
Adithya Ashok1003833.80
Jesse Tashkoff1014014.00

Rhys Mariu lbw b Navod Paranavithana861066081.13
Ollie White c Nipun Dananjaya b Ashian Daniel490044.44
Fergus Lellman c Navod Paranavithana b Dilum Sudheera13251052.00
Beckham Wheeler-Greenall run out (Ashian Daniel)801114172.07
Jesse Tashkoff c Sonal Dinusha b Dilshan Madusanka30352085.71
Simon Keene run out (Sonal Dinusha)3200150.00
Quinn Sunde c Matheesha Pathirana b Dilum Sudheera240050.00
Joey Field not out5400125.00
Kristian Clarke not out9300300.00
Extras11 (b 4 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 4, pen 0)
Total243/7 (49.5 Overs, RR: 4.88)
Fall of Wickets 1-15 (3.6) Ollie White, 2-47 (11.4) Fergus Lellman, 3-158 (37.1) Rhys Mariu, 4-217 (47.1) Jesse Tashkoff, 5-221 (47.4) Simon Keene, 6-229 (48.3) Beckham Wheeler-Greenall, 7-229 (48.4) Quinn Sunde,
Dilshan Madusanka9.505615.89
Ashian Daniel1003013.00
Dilum Sudheera1005225.20
Navod Paranavithana904314.78
Kavindu Nadeeshan1004804.80
Sonal Dinusha10707.00

>>Click here for more Cricket News