Heavens open up as Colombo joins Galle for final showdown

Super Provincial Limited Over Tournament

Colombo's Captain Thisara Perera (L) Appeals for a LBW in his teams encounter with Galle in the ongoing Provintial tournament. Match was called off due to rains.
The final round of league stage matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Super Four Provincial Limited Over Tournament, ended in no result due to severe rain in Colombo on Thursday.

The washouts also meant that Team Colombo made it through to the final scheduled for the 20th of May and will meet Team Galle who had already booked their place ahead of today’s game. The final will be played at the R. Premadasa International Stadium and will be a day/night encounter.

Dambulla vs Kandy

Ashan Priyanjan’s hot run of form continued when he struck a fluent 73 runs off 77 balls to guide Dambulla to a competitive 257/7 in their allotted 50 overs at the P. Sara Oval. His knock included 6 fours and 2 sixes while more remarkably his innings helped him top the batting run charts at the end of the league stage with 279 runs. Shehan Jayasuriya came second with 275 runs while Upul Tharanga made 272 runs.
TM Sampath and Sachithra Serasinghe also made useful 40’s while Lahiru Madushanka provided some late fireworks with a better than run-a-ball 34*. Charith Asalanka and Jeevan Mendis captured two wickets apiece for Team Kandy.
Only 1.1 overs of play were possible in Kandy’s run chase as the rain came down to bring a premature end to the game and ending Dambulla’s hopes of qualifying for the day night encounter.


Full Scorecard

Team Dambulla


(49 overs)


Team Kandy


(1.1 overs)

No result

Team Dambulla’s Innings

Nishan Madushka c M.Bhanuka b I.Udana1523
Sandun Weerakody lbw by J.Silva76
Sachithra Serasinghe c D.Gunathilaka b J.Mendis4166
Ashan Priyanjan c P.Nissanka b C.Asalanka7377
Milinda Siriwardane b C.Asalanka916
TN.Sampath c I.Udana b P.Jayasuriya4252
Sachithra Senanayake c R.Mendis b J.Mendis1715
Lahiru Madushanka not out3433
Shehan Madushanka not out96
10 (LB 2 , WD 8)
257/7 (49 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-8 (S Weerakkody, 1.4 ov), 2-44 (N.Madushka, 8.1 ov), 3-99 (S Serasinghe, 22.5 ov), 4-141 (M Siriwardana, 30.1 ov), 5-152 (A Priyanjan, 32.4 ov), 6-179 (S Senanayake, 37.5 ov), 7-226 (TN Sampath, 46.2 ov)
Isuru Udana80591 7.38
Janith Silva52171 3.40
Prabath Jayasuriya100501 5.00
Jeewan Mendis100342 3.40
Danushka Gunathilaka80520 6.50
Ramesh Mendis10110 11.00
Charith Asalanka71322 4.57

Team Kandy’s Innings

Danushka Gunathilake not out135
Pathum Nissanka not out42
17/0 (1.1 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
Binura Fernando10130 13.00
Lahiru Madushanka0.1040 40.00

Colombo vs Galle

Not even one innings was completed in the game between Colombo and Galle at the R. Premadasa International Stadium, but it was good enough for both teams to qualify for the final.
Ramith Rambukwella fell early on after Galle won the toss and batted first, but it was initially the Bhanuka Rajapakse show, before the ever promising Sadeera Samarawickrama took over.

Video – Ashan Priyanjan – 50 off 51 balls

Dambulla middle order batsman Ashan Priyanjan stroked a 51-ball 50 against Colombo in their SLC…

Rajapakse fell for an entertaining 59 but Samarawickrama who has gathered momentum as the tournament progressed, remained unbeaten on 72* when the heavens opened up and Team Galle on 155/2 in 30 overs. The elegant Samarawickrama’s knock also helped him burst into the top five run scorers of the tournament with 234 runs while no further play was possible as the rain continued to pour down.


Full Scorecard

Team Galle


(30 overs)


Team Colombo


(0 overs)

No result

Team Galle’s Innings

Banuka Rajapakshe lbw by S.Jayasuriya5956
Ramith Rambukwella c K.Mendis b T.Perera02
Sadeera Samarawickrama not out7294
Sammu Ashan not out1628
8 (LB 2 , WD 6)
155/2 (30 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-1 (R Rambukwella, 0.3 ov), 2-124 (B Rajapaksa, 21.5 ov)
Thisara Perera50331 6.60
Kavishka Anjula41120 3.00
Lakshan Sandakan40180 4.50
Thikshila De Silva50380 7.60
Wannindu Hasaranga30180 6.00
Shehan Jayasuriya50221 4.40
Kamindu Mendis40120 3.00

Team Colombo’s Innings

0/0 (0 overs)
Fall of Wickets: