The 11th battle of the Golds between Mahanama College and DS Senanayake College is all set to get under way on the 9th of April (Sunday) in a day-night encounter at R. Premadasa stadium.

With DS Senanayake College reaching 50 years of its existence, this limited over encounter will undoubtedly be a special occasion not only for the lads from DS but both teams as they face off for the Aravinda De Silva Challenge trophy under lights at R. Premadasa International Stadium.  

Recent History

The one day encounter began as recently as 2007 as cricket got prominence in both schools. Mahanama College lead the win tally in the limited over encounter with 5 wins while DS is a single win behind with 4 to their name while one match had ended with no result.

Mahanama College are the current holders of the Aravinda De Silva Challenge trophy as they secured the win in 2016 by 28 runs in an exciting game of cricket played at the same venue.

Mahanama College

Mahanama College had an impressive season this time around, managing a second place finish in the group (B) stage and an ultimate end with a quarter final berth in the two day tournament. In the limited over version of the game, Mahanama was able to reach the pre-quarter final stage before been knocked out.

Mahanama registered a single outright win and 5 first innings wins in the recently concluded two day tournament.

Third year representative and wicket-keeper batsman Malindu Maduranga will be the leader of the Mahanama pack. With first class experience at Colombo Cricket Club, captain Maduranga will undoubtedly take all of the expertise into this important game. Maduranga has 960 runs under his belt, with 5 centuries and 3 half centuries and a best of 184 to add to it. He also managed a vital fifty in the recently concluded Inter District one day tournament final, where Colombo District emerged victorious.

Hashan Nileeka, the paceman who opens the bowling for Mahanama, will be the lynch-pin in the bowling. He has bagged 20+ wickets this season. The hard hitting right hander has scored 560 runs, including a century.

Mahanama Squad

Malindu Maduranga ( C ), Kavindu Vilochana, Niduka Welikala, Heshan Nileeka, Vihan Mudalige, Harshana Vithana, Pathum Botheju, Chalitha Subasinghe, Sadisha Gamage, Pawantha Weerasinghe, Chamal Polgampola, Ashan Sandeepa, Mahela De Silva, Bishan Mendis, Pawan Ratnayake, Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi, Wathsala Perera, Vinuka Ranjana, Dileesha Thuduwage


DS Senanayake College

DS, on the other hand had a dismal season finishing in fourth place in group C. They did not reach their full potential throughout the season and will be seeking redemption by winning this important fixture.

Having played 14 matches this season, DS managed to register 2 outright wins and 6 first innings wins, with two of them coming against the much fancied Nalanda College and Trinity College outfits.  

Captain Torin Pitigala failed to contribute as much as he would have liked to with a shoulder injury.

Elegant left hander and vice-captain Shehzaad Ameen, was the pick of the batsmen with 600+ runs this season at an average of 30. The vice captain will aim to strengthen the batting for his team as they seek to upset Mahanama in this important encounter.

DS Senanayake Squad

Torin Pitigala ( C ) ,Shehzaad Ameen, Thathsara Bandara, Vihan Gunasekara, Geethanjana Daniel, Deemantha Kaushalya , Inosha Gunawardena, Shashika Gamage, Pasindu Adithya, Methsith Jayamanna, Kavindu Dilshan, Dasun Perera, Pasindu Chanaka,Muditha Lakshan, Sachintha Hettige, Kalana Hettiarachchi, Lahiru Samaranayake, Dilshan Laheer, Teron Baskaran, Yasith Samaradivakara.

Final Say

Mahanama come into this game with the upper hand, having had an exceptional season and will seek to retain the title they won last year. However DS will look to celebrate their 50th year with an upsetting win.