Five matches of the 25th Singer-MCA Premier League Tournament were conducted today in Colombo with plenty of national cricketers in action.

Sampath Bank vs Kanrich Finance

Stand-in Captain Dasun Shanaka slammed a whirlwind century as Sampath Bank defeated Kanrich Finance by 51 runs at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

After opting to bat first, Sampath Bank amassed 280 for 9 from their 50 overs.  Rumesh Buddhika and Avishka Fernando made 54 and 47 respectively but it was Shanaka’s 105-ball 107 which sparkled Khettarama. He made 6 fours and 7 sixes in a wonderful batting exhibition. In reply, Kanrich were bowled out for just 229 with Kasun Vidura and Kavindu Kulasekara slamming half-tons.

Sampath Bank – 280/9 in 50 overs: Dasun Shanaka 107, Rumesh Buddhika 54, Avishka Fernando 47, Saranga Rajaguru 3/49, Pramodh Madhushan 2/68, Kasun Vidura 2/41.

Kanrich Finance – 229 all out in 48 overs: Kasun Vidura 67, Kavindu Kulasekara 64, Alankara Asanka 24, Tharindhu Kaushal 3/38, Kasun Rajitha 2/43.

LB Finance vs Tee Jay Lanka

Tee Jay Lanka continued their merry run as they beat LB Finance convincingly by 7 wickets at MCA grounds.

Opening batsman Lahiru Udara played a lone hand for LB Finance with a fine 68 while the other batsmen failed to capitalize as they were bundled out for just 140 runs inside 30 overs. Former Trinitian Dilan Jayalath smashed an unbeaten 62 as Tee Jay Lanka finished off the chase with a six.

LB Finance – 140 all out in 29.3 overs: Lahiru Udara 68, Upul Bandara 3/29, Jeffrey Vandersey 3/33.

Teejay Lanka – 146/3 in 22.3 overs: Dilan Jayalath 62*, Charith Asalanka 44, Angelo Perera 2/16.

MAS Unichela vs HNB

Former Test Captain, Hashan Tillakarathne’s son, Duvindu captured a 6-wicket haul as MAS Unichela crushed HNB by 8 wickets at Colts grounds.

After sending the Bankers to bat first, Tillakaratne took 6 for 20 as HNB were folded for just 76. TM Dilshan and Ramith Rambukwella smashed their way to the target in just 8.3 overs.

HNB – 76 all out in 27.2 overs: Navindu Nirmal 19, Duvindu Tillakarathne 6/20.

MAS Unichela – 78/2 in 8.3 overs: TM Dilshan 35*, Ramith Rambukwella 33.

Dimo vs JKH

John Keells Holdings decimated Dimo by 8 wickets at Tyronne Fernando Stadium in Moratuwa in another one-sided affair.

JKH opted to bowl first and their decision paid off as Dimo were rattled for just 95 runs with off-spinner Maduka Liyanapathiranage taking 4 wickets. JKH reached the target in just 14.1 overs with only 2 wickets down.

Dimo – 95 all out in 34 overs: Lasith Abeyrathne 24, Bhanuka Rajapakshe 2/10, Vikum Sanjaya 2/40, Chamikara Edirisinghe 2/10, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 4/09.

JKH – 97/2 in 14.1 overs: Lasith Lakshan 37*, Sandun Weerakkody 37.

Commercial Credit vs Hayleys

Dilshan Munaweera slammed a quick-fire 90 as Commercial Credit defeated Hayleys by 112 runs at FTZ grounds in Katunayake.

After being sent into bat first, Commercial Credit recorded a massive 325 from their 50 overs. Apart of Munaweera’s 90, Jehan Mubarak and Ashan Priyanjan made 77 and 71 respectively. In reply, Hayleys mustered only 213. Sachithra Serasinghe made a fifty for the losing team while Suraj Randiv took 4 wickets with his off-spin.

Commercial Credit – 325 all out in 50 overs: Dilshan Munaweera 90, Jehan Mubarak 77, Ashan Priyanjan 71, Imesh Udayanga 20, Sachithra Serasinghe 2/74, Chanaka Ruwansiri 2/61.

Hayleys – 213 all out in 45.4 overs: Sachithra Serasinghe 56, Andy Solomans 36, Maduranga Soysa 33, Harsha Rajapakshe 33, Chanaka Ruwansiri 33, Suraj Randiv 4/31, Imesh Udayanga 2/49.