Home Cricket National Cricket Mehedy, Mominul sink Sri Lanka-A at Hambantota

Mehedy, Mominul sink Sri Lanka-A at Hambantota

Bangladesh ‘A’ tour of Sri Lanka 2019 | 2nd Unofficial Test – Day 2


The second day of the final unofficial Test in the Bangladesh A tour of Sri Lanka 2019 was conducted today at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota. Bangladesh A were in a commanding position; 283/6 at the stumps after rolling over the hosts for 268.

Sri Lanka A had a decent day at the crease yesterday after racking 223/5 thanks to a stroke filled knock of 85 by opener Pathum Nissanka. But unfortunately, they only could gather 45 runs this morning for the loss of 5 wickets.

Read: Pathum Nissanka makes life hard for touring Bangladesh A

The chief destroyer was Bangladesh Test cap Mehedy Hasan Miraz who picked up 7 Sri Lanka A scalps for just 87 runs in his 37 overs. After the partnership between the overnight pair, wicket keeper batsman Lahiru Udara and former Sri Lanka U19 skipper Charith Asalanka’s 43 runs, no other batsmen scored runs as the last 3 batsmen were dismissed for ducks by Mehedy Hasan Miraz.

Watch: Pathum Nissanka’s unbeaten 188*

The Sri Lanka A bowlers, particularly Mohommad Shiraz, tasted early success in the visitors’ first innings, taking two quick wickets of Jahurul Islam and Najmul Hossain Shanto. From then on, Shadman Islam and skipper Mominul Haque put on a mammoth partnership of 154 runs for the 3rd wicket.

Opening batsman Jahurul Islam who has already played 7 Tests for the Bangladesh senior side, played a crucial knock of 77 in quick time to make life hard for the Sri Lanka A bowlers while the experienced Mominul Haque anchored the innings from the other end to score a magnificent century. 

He was dismissed by Mohommad Shiraz who made him nick one to the wicket keeper Lahiru Udara when he was on 117. 

With a few middle order contributions from Mohammad Mithun and Nurul Hasan, Bangladesh A concluded a successful day, finishing on 283/6 at stumps.

The third day of the game will begin tomorrow at 10.00am as the series is in balance on 0-0 after the 1st game ended in a draw.

>>More Cricket News<<

Match drawn

Sri Lanka A Team
268/10 (90.2) & 357/2 (107)
Bangladesh A
330/10 (83.1)
Pathum Nissanka lbw b Mehidy Hasan8516611051.20
Sangeeth Cooray c Najmul Hossain b Mehidy Hasan17322053.12
Kamindu Mendis c Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan621218151.24
Ashan Priyanjan c Nurul Hasan b Ebadat Hossain28484058.33
Charith Asalanka c Mominul Haque b Salauddin Sakil441008044.00
Priyamal Perera c Mohammad Mithun b Ebadat Hossain4150026.67
Lahiru Udara c Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan20502040.00
Nishan Peiris lbw b Mehidy Hasan02000.00
Prabath Jayasuriya c Rishad Hossain b Mehidy Hasan05000.00
Mohamed Shiraz c Mominul Haque b Mehidy Hasan02000.00
Asitha Fernando not out02000.00
Extras8 (b 0 , lb 6 , nb 1, w 1, pen 0)
Total268/10 (90.2 Overs, RR: 2.97)
Fall of Wickets 1-32 (13.4) Sangeeth Cooray, 2-153 (47.4) Kamindu Mendis, 3-188 (57.3) Pathum Nissanka, 4-217 (66.5) Ashan Priyanjan, 5-221 (70.3) Priyamal Perera, 6-264 (87.1) Lahiru Udara, 7-264 (87.3) Nishan Peiris, 8-268 (89.2) Prabath Jayasuriya, 9-268 (89.4) Mohamed Shiraz, 10-268 (90.2) Charith Asalanka,
Ebadat Hossain2376222.70
Salauddin Sakil17.226013.49
Mehidy Hasan37148472.27
Rishad Hossain1305604.31
Jahurul Islam b Mohamed Shiraz140025.00
Shadman Islam c Sangeeth Cooray b Prabath Jayasuriya771048174.04
Najmul Hossain c Lahiru Udara b Mohamed Shiraz9172052.94
Mominul Haque c Lahiru Udara b Mohamed Shiraz11719015161.58
Mohammad Mithun c Lahiru Udara b Asitha Fernando21362058.33
Anamul Haque c Lahiru Udara b Prabath Jayasuriya8171047.06
Nurul Hasan c Lahiru Udara b Asitha Fernando363132116.13
Mehidy Hasan not out38613162.30
Rishad Hossain c Lahiru Udara b Mohamed Shiraz7340020.59
Salauddin Sakil c Sangeeth Cooray b Prabath Jayasuriya451080.00
Ebadat Hossain b Mohamed Shiraz03000.00
Extras12 (b 4 , lb 4 , nb 3, w 1, pen 0)
Total330/10 (83.1 Overs, RR: 3.97)
Fall of Wickets 1-3 (1.2) Jahurul Islam, 2-22 (5.1) Najmul Hossain, 3-176 (40.1) Shadman Islam, 4-215 (51.5) Mohammad Mithun, 5-230 (56.4) Anamul Haque, 6-270 (63.6) Mominul Haque, 7-285 (67.3) Nurul Hasan, 8-310 (79.4) Rishad Hossain, 9-315 (80.6) Salauddin Sakil, 10-330 (83.1) Ebadat Hossain,
Asitha Fernando1644823.00
Mohamed Shiraz21.166352.99
Nishan Peiris704105.86
Ashan Priyanjan402205.50
Prabath Jayasuriya31311433.68
Charith Asalanka301906.33
Kamindu Mendis1015015.00

Pathum Nissanka run out (Mehidy Hasan)19230720162.54
Sangeeth Cooray c Nurul Hasan b Rishad Hossain8918812047.34
Kamindu Mendis not out671346050.00
Ashan Priyanjan not out5140035.71
Extras4 (b 0 , lb 2 , nb 1, w 1, pen 0)
Total357/2 (107 Overs, RR: 3.34)
Fall of Wickets 1-219 (62.3) Sangeeth Cooray, 2-351 (103.4) Pathum Nissanka,
Ebadat Hossain2126002.86
Mehidy Hasan37511803.19
Salauddin Sakil2247903.59
Rishad Hossain2327813.39
Mohammad Mithun10808.00
Mominul Haque301204.00