The rising star of Sri Lanka Cricket, Kusal Mendis warmed up for the Australia series with a cracking knock of 140 to guide Colombo Cricket Club (CCC) to a comfortable 7-wicket win over Saracens SC in their SLC Under 23 Division 1 Tournament 2016 game played at Maitland Crescent today.

Mendis hammered 10 sixes and 6 fours during his unbeaten 116-ball 140 which helped CCC chase down 211 runs. Even though, Saracens SC was completely outclassed, they still booked their place in the quarter-finals alongside CCC.

Saracens – 210/8 in 50 overs: Sangeeth Cooray 59, Ishan Nilaksha 38, Dushan Hemantha 28, Roshan Anurudda 2/22, Raveen Sayer 2/26, Usman Ishak 2/54.

CCC – 211/3 in 38 overs: Kusal Mendis 140*, Roshan Anurudda 37*.

Pawan Dias hands consolation win for Galle

Pawan Dias hammered 104 as Galle CC crushed Lankan CC by 81 runs to record their one and only win in the tournament at Surrey Village Grounds.

Galle – 321/8 in 50 overs: Pawan Dias 104, Dulash Udayanga 58, Ashan Madushanka 38, Madhawa Fernando 2/49, Ivanka Sanjula 2/53.

Lankan – 240 all out in 48 overs: Dhanuka Pathirana 94, Sanjula Abewickkrama 57, Madhawa Fernando 28, Gihan Niroshan 3/47, Chathura Lakshan 3/27, Pawan Dias 2/36.

Salinda Ushan 99 propel Colts over Army

Former Isipathana College captain Salinda Ushan scored a brilliant 99 as Colts CC defeated SL Army SC by 2 wickets in a thrilling game played at Army grounds in Panagoda.

Even with this win, Colts failed to qualify for the knockouts due to their low net-run rate.

SL Army – 238 all out in 50 overs: Sachin Dilranga 91*, Leo Francisco 50, Ashen Randika 32, Mohammed Shiraz 4/44, Akila Dhananjaya 2/28.

Colts CC – 239/8 in 47.3 overs: Salinda Ushan 99, Sadeera Samarawickkrama 38, Sahan Arachchige 21, Dilshan De Zoysa 2/22, Nilanka Laksiri 2/25.

Bloomfield upsets Nondescripts

Bloomfield C & AC recorded a fine 68-run win over NCC as the table-toppers suffered their first loss in the tournament at NCC grounds.

Off-spinning all-rounder Mohommad Akram shined for the visitors with both bat and ball scoring 52 and taking 3 wickets.

Bloomfield – 267/7 in 50 overs: Sachin Jayawardena 79, Chandula Jayamanne 63, Mohammed Akram 52, Aravinda Akurugoda 3/39.

NCC – 199 all out in 43.2 overs: Anuk Fernando 50, Sandun Weerakkody 25, Pawan Wickkramasinghe 33, Sachintha Peiris 24, Tharindu Karunarathna 2/30, Dulanjana Senevirathne 2/34, Mohommad Akram 3/22.

Kulasekara ton in vain as Chilaw Marians top Group D

Kavindu Kulasekara’s unbeaten 108 was not enough for SSC as Chilaw Marians won the battle of the titans by 85 runs at FTZ grounds in Katunayake.

Both teams advanced to the quarter-finals with Chilaw Marians gaining the top spot in the final group standings.

Chilaw Marians – 299/9 in 50 overs: Kasun Vidura 88, Lakkana Jayasekara 64, Chalana De silva 39,Thikshila De Silva 31, Ramesh Mendis 3/42, Nuwan Thushara 3/64.

SSC – 214/9 in 50 overs: Kavindu Kulasekara 108*, Adeesha Thilanchana 33, Yohan Mendis 32, Charith Rajapaksha 2/38, Ayana Siriwardana 2/45.

Sri Lanka Ports Authority secure quarter-finals berth

Opening batsman Navod Kalansuriya stroked a classic and unbeaten 54-ball 70 as Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC advanced to the quarter-finals beating Kurunegala Youth CC comfortably by 7 wickets at Welegedara Stadium in Kurunegala.

Kurunegala Youth – 137 all out in 44.3 overs: Damith Perera 51, Prabhash Keppetipola 23*, Hasitha Madushan 3/20, Charith Sudaraka 2/33, S Nadeesha 2/20.

SL Ports Authority – 139/3 in 21.1 overs: Navod Kalansuriya 70*, Harsha Rajapaksha 26*, Randeera Ranasinghe 3/46.

Police SC shut down for 40

Ragama Cricket Club finished off their campaign with a morale-boosting win as they bowled out Police Sports Club to a mere 40 and win the game by 8 wickets at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium.

Police SC – 40 all out in 26.1 overs: Ashintha Malshan 12, Amila Aponso 3/13, Sahan Nanayakkara 3/11.

Ragama CC – 41/2 in 10.3 overs: Charith Sasalanka 19*, Tharindu De Silva 2/15.

Navy keep their QF chances alive

Navy Sports Club trounced Panadura Sports Club by 120 runs at Welisara Navy Grounds as they still have an outside chance of qualifying for the knockouts.

Navy SC – 253/9 in 50 overs: Yohan Soysa 53, Sameera Sandamal 41, Yohan Suresh 36, Kusal Lakthilina 31, Ayesh Madushanka 3/66, Nimesh Vimukthi 2/44.

Panadura SC – 133 all out in 34.5 overs: Mohommad Shilmi 25, Lahiru Sanjaya 33*, Yohan Soysa 3/13.

Qualification Scenario

The quarter-finals will be played on 19th July at 4 venues, NCC, Colts, CCC and Moors.

Group A – NCC has already secured their place in the quarter-finals with 4 wins out of five matches. The final group stage match between Tamil Union C & AC and Negombo CC will determine who will join NCC in the quarter-finals. Tamil Union has 3 wins out of 4 matches while Navy has won 3 games out of their 5 matches. Negombo also has an opportunity to enter knockouts if they win tomorrow at BOI grounds. Three teams are still battling for that second spot.

Group B – CCC took the pole position after today’s Kusal Mendis’ master class. They have won 3 matches out of their 4 games while Saracens also has the same points after 4 matches. CCC has a better net run-rate than Saracens.

Group C – SL Army and SL Ports Authority edged out stiff competition from Colts CC to enter the quarter-finals. All three teams ended with 4 wins out of 5 matches but due to a higher net run-rate Army and Ports secured the number 1 and 2 places respectively.

Group D – Chilaw Marians won all their five matches to claim the top spot while SSC finished on number 2 with four wins out of five.