Avishka earns much-needed points for St. Anthony’s Wattala

Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2019/20


St. Anthony’s College recorded a first-innings win against Maliyadeva College to lift themselves from the relegation threat. Four other games of Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament got underway today, 5th February 2020.

The Antonians won the toss and decided to put the oppositions into bat first at their backyard in Wattala. The Kurunegala school struggled in the first-innings as the man in form Muditha Premadasa faced a rare failure. Boys from the ‘city of rock’ posted 146 runs for the first innings where Gayan Karunanayake top-scored with 37 runs. The Sri Lanka youth discard Avishika Tharindu, picked up 3 wickets with his skillful right-arm seam. 

Even though the St. Anthony’s College ground is well known for its lightning-quick outfields, surprisingly, both these teams made the game a low-scorer. The hosts were undone for 155 runs even though they were lucky enough to secure extra points for the first-innings surplus. They are in desperate need of points to avoid relegations as they are among the teams who are at the bottom of the table. 

Read : Here we go again! – March Madness 2020

Among the 155 runs were the classy 80 runs made by the most celebrated campaigner of the team, Avishka Tharindu. His knocks meant redemption for the team.  Matheesha Weerasinghe was the star with the ball as he bagged a fifer with a lot of grit in his bowling. 

You can’t keep a man who is in red-hot form as Muditha Premadasa silent for long. He made that point valid with a strokeful 80 in the second innings to show his class. Muditha is the only batsman who has gone past 1000 runs this season so far. 

Maliyadeva College scored 182 runs for the loss of 7 wickets when the umpires took the bails off. 

Brief scores

Maliyadeva College 146 (62.4) 

Gayan Karunanayake 37, Jayamin Muthukumarana 24, Avishka Tharindu 3/23, Amitha Sandeepa 2/23, Kaveesha Dulanja 2/21 Dinuk Vishal 2/31 

& 182/7 (40) 

Muditha Premadasa 80, Shaluka Athapaththu 42*, Matheesha Weerasinghe 26, Romesh Chaturanga 3/91

St. Anthony’s College 155 (91) 

Avishka Tharindu 80, Dinuk Vishal 37, Amita Sandeepa 36, Gihan Sasmitha 27, Romesh Suranga 27, Sanishka Gimahana 25, Matheesha Weerasinghe 5/57, Sakindu Wijerathne 3/40


Read More : Mahima Weerakoon guides Nalanda to first innings points

Brief scores of the games began today

Maris Stella College, Negombo vs Mahinda College, Galle

at St.Sebastian’s College Ground, Katuneriya (Toss: Maris Stella College)

Maris Stella College 167 (67.4)

Thilina Perera 61, Chamindu Weerawansa 26*, Tharindu Maduwantha 25, Kavindu Lakshan 4/45, Sithira Helitha 3/11

Mahinda College 87/5 (33)

Rashmika Madusanka 25*, Naveen Fernando 2/11


Ananda College, Colombo vs Trinity College, Kandy

at Ananda College Ground, Colombo (Toss: Ananda College)

Ananda College 174 (62.4)

Saviru Bandara 58*, Nethma Karunarathne 54, Ruvin Peiris 5/42, Shane Gunathilake 3/43

Trinity College 150/5 (31.5)

Thewin Amarasinghe 63*, Pawan Pathiraja 39, Abhishek Anandakumar 25, Isuru Ayesh 2/36


Gurukula College, Kelaniya vs St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy

at Aarons Cricket Club Ground, Bulathsinhala (Toss: Sylvester’s College)

Gurukula College 207/9d (53.2)

Likshan Sasanga 56, Praveen Nimesh 49, Rashmika Mewan 48, Shashika Basnayake 8/95

St. Sylvester’s College 69/3 (24)

Chandula Jayakodi 29


Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda vs S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia

at S. Thomas’ College Ground, Mt. Lavinia (Toss: Dharmasoka College)

Dharmasoka College 134 (43)

Sasindu Malshan 40, Hasitha Rajapaksha 24, Chamindu Dilshan 24, Thevin Eriyagama 4/14, Yasiru Rodrigo 2/32, Dulmin Rathnayake 2/33

S. Thomas’ College 310/8 (46)

Shalin De Mel 66, Maneesha Rupasingha 57, Dulmin Rathnayake 48, Umayanga Suwaris 47, Shamilka Karunathilake 37, Sahan Sankalpa 4/78, Lohan Aroshana 4/123


>>> Click here for more schools cricket news <<<