St. Anthony’s Katugasthota record historic win over St. Joseph’s

Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19


St. Anthony’s College, Katugasthota registered a historic win against the more dominant St. Joseph’s College, Colombo side to secure the ‘Murali-Vaas’ Challenge Trophy as four matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island.

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo vs St. Anthony’s College, Kandy

St. Anthony’s College managed to defeat St. Joseph’s College after 28 years by an innings and 17 runs to win the Murali-Vaas Trophy for the first time.

After being on 119 runs for 3 wickets at overnight, the Antonians declared their first innings at 354 for 7 with skipper Theeksha Gunasinghe (142) and Kalhara Senarathne (106) top scoring for the hosts.

Abishek and Kavishka hand Trinity an innings victory

The visitors began their second innings 141 runs behind and poor batting display restricted them to 119 runs in 40.3 overs.

Left arm spinner Nimnaka Jayathilaka who picked up 5 wickets in the first innings claimed 7 wickets for 43 runs in the second. The defending champions, St. Joseph’s College continues in their struggles this season as they faced their second outright defeat.

Brief scores

St. Joseph’s College 213 (45) Johanne de Silva 59, Dunith Wellalage 42, Dineth Jayakody 38, Lakshan Gamage 22, Nimnaka Jayathilake 5/66, Asitha Wanninayake 3/11 & 119 (40.3) Sheran Fonseka 23, Dunith Wellalage 52, Nimnaka Jayathilake 7/43, Kalhara Senarathne 3/46

St. Anthony’s College – 354/7d (100.1) Theeksha Gunasinghe 142, Kalhara Senarathna 106, Thamashana Abeykoon 30, Chamindu Wickramasinghe 21, Tharindu Lamahewage 21, Miranga Wickramage 2/15, Salinda Senevirathna 2/53, Ashain Daniel 2/118

Result – St. Anthony’s College won by an innings & 17 runs

Ananda College, Colombo vs Trinity College, Kandy

Ananda College managed to take first innings points in the drawn encounter against Trinity College, which was worked off today at the Asgiriya Stadium.

Kamesh Nirmal, the brother of Dinesh Chandimal, excelled with the bat for Ananda College in both innings scoring two half-centuries. Trinity off-spinner Kavishka Senadeera took a match bag of 9 wickets for 148 runs.

Navod Paranavithana guides Mahinda College to victory

Brief scores

Ananda College – 230 (62.2) Kamesh Nirmal 78, Kamidu Gimhana 38, Janidu Jayawardane 32, Daminda Reshan 26, Adeesha Perera 20, Kavishka Senadeera 5/89 & 152/5d (37) Kamesh Nirmal 54, Nadeesha Karunarathne 37*, Kamidu Gimhana 30, Kavishka Senadeera 4/59

Trinity College – 150 (40.1) Pubudu Bandara 49, Kavishka Senadeera 37, Saviru Bandara 4/13, Nadeesha Karunarathne 3/23, Janindu Jayawardana 2/33 & 148/8 (50) Shen Gunathilaka 64, Ashan Lokuketiya 24*, Nadeesha Karunarathne 4/60, Saviru Bandara 3/38

Result – Match Drawn (Ananda College won first innings points)

St. Benedict’s College, Colombo vs St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa

The traditional fixture between St. Benedict’s College and St. Sebastian’s College ended in a draw today at the St. Benedict’s College Grounds in Colombo.

However, the first innings points were won by the visitors. The half-tons scored by Nishitha Abilash (89), Dunith Jayathunga (56) and Nuwanindu Fernando (56) helped the lads from Moratuwa to take major honors in the match.

Pawantha Weerasinghe smashes 196; Dilum Sudheera takes 11

Brief scores

St. Benedict’s College – 169 (65.5) Kaveesha Jayathilake 52, Mahesh Theekshana 48*, Janishka Perera 3/26, Thashik Perera 2/38 & 192/7 (61) Brian Oshwin 43, Mahesh Theekshana 38*, Sanoj Perera 24, Kaveesha Jayathilake 22, Nuwanidu Fernando 2/22, Vinuja Ranasinghe 2/39

St. Sebastian’s College – 250 (71.3) Nisitha Abilash 89, Dunith Jayathunga 56, Nuwanidu Fernando 56, Maheesh Theekshana 5/75, Malinda Perera 2/66

Result – Match Drawn (St. Sebastian’s College won first innings points)

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Moratuwa vs St. Aloysius College, Galle

The Group C fixture between Moratu Maha Vidyalaya and St. Aloysius College ended in a draw today at the Galle International Cricket Stadium with the lads from Moratuwa claiming first innings points.

Sri Lanka U19 cap Nishan Madushka scored 80 runs in the match while Vishwa Didulana and Eran Hansamal starred with the ball for the Moratu boys, sharing 7 wickets between themselves.

Mahesh Theekshana takes 10, Bens register an outright win

Brief scores

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya – 173 (59.1) Nishan Madushka 41, Vishwa Didulana 29, Rashan Kavishka 25*, Hashen Adithya 20, Niduk Abishek 4/38, Adithya Yapa 3/47 & 124/4 (44) Nishan Madushka 39, Chamalka Pushpakumara 33, Madushan Dulakshana 25*, Adithya Yapa 3/18

St. Aloysius College – 162 (89.2) Chatura Prabath 48*, Manushka Samith 25, Vishwa Didulana 4/45, Eran Hansamal 3/42

Result – Match Drawn (Moratu Maha Vidyalaya won first innings points)

Click here for more schools matches happened today