Hirun Kapurubandara century powers Joes to huge win over Maris Stella

U19 Division 1 Inter-Schools Limited Overs Tournament 2023

U19 Division 1 Inter-Schools Limited Overs Tournament 2023

Three matches of the U19 Division 1 Inter-Schools Limited Overs Tournament 2023/24 were played today (28th October) at several venues across the island.

Hirun Kapurubandara stroked a blistering century, helping St. Joseph’s College register a comfortable win over Maris Stella College in their own backyard.

After restricting the Maris Stella innings to just 180 runs thanks a brilliant spell by Yenula Dewtusa, the hosts chased down the target in 19.2 overs without losing any wickets. Kapurubandara stroked 109 runs off 64 balls with 8 fours and 9 sixes at a strike rate of 170.31.

>>Yuri Koththigoda’s 5-fer guides Richmond to a huge win

Royal College registered a 52-run win over St. Benedict’s College in their limited overs encounter played today at St. Benedict’s College Grounds, Kotahena.

Though, the visitors were bundled out for a low score of 159 runs, their bowlers displayed a brilliant bowling effort to dismiss the Bens for 107 runs. Nethwin Dharmarathne was the standout performer with the ball for Royal College as he bagged 4 wickets for 18 runs.

S.Thomas’ College also recorded a convincing win over St. Anne’s College in a low-scoring encounter worked off today at S. Thomas’ College Grounds, Mount Lavinia.

>>Hard-fought wins for Royal & S. Thomas’, Osanda bowls Nalanda to victory

The hosts managed post 172 runs on the board courtesy of Nathan Caldera’s fighting half-century. Bazeer Shakeel impressed with the ball for the visitors, picking up 5 wickets for 39 runs.

In reply, St. Anne’s College posted 75 runs for 9 wickets before rain interrupted the play. S. Thomas’ College was declared as winners of the contest as per the parabola method. Caldera, who stood out with the bat earlier in the day, showcased his skills with the ball picking up 2 crucial wickets for 5 runs.

Brief Scores

Maris Stella College, Negombo – 180 (46.3) Gaveesha Induwara 42, Mineth Fernando 32, Randeera De Silva 30, Anshen De Silva 24, Yenula Dewtusa 4/38

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo – 181/0 (19.2) Hirun Kapurubandara 109*, Abishek Jayaweera 55*

Result – St. Joseph’s College won by 10 wickets

Royal College, Colombo – 159 (46) Dinura Senaratne 36, Ramiru Perera 32, Udantha Gangewatte 27, Manikya Deshapriya 3/33, Mevan Dissanayake 2/21, Nirwan Jayathilaka 2/21

St. Benedict’s College, Colombo – 107 (40.2) Steeve Harsan 42, Dumeen Liyanaarachchi 21, Tehan Bitar 20, Nethwin Dharmarathne 4/18, Ranuka Malaviarachchi 2/12, Thamod Yasodhya 2/28

Result – Royal College won by 52 runs

S.Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia – 172 (50) Nathan Caldera 69, Sadev Soysa 35, Bazeer Shakeel 5/39, Kevin Nanayakkara 2/16

St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala – 75/9 (32) Nathan Caldera 2/5, Kavindu Dias 2/11, Ashen P Perera 2/15

Result – S. Thomas’ College won by 62 runs (Parabola Method)