Dinura Kalupahana 4-fer steers Mahinda College to win

U19 Division 1 Inter-Schools Limited Overs Tournament 2023

U19 Division 1 Inter-Schools Limited Overs Tournament 2023

Gurukula College, Kelaniya and Mahinda College, Galle registered wins in the two encounters of U19 Division 1 Inter-Schools Limited Overs Tournament 2023/24 played today (24th September) at Matara and Ambalangoda.

Gurukula College, Kelaniya recorded a 42-run win over St. Servatius’ College, Matara in their Tier A encounter played today at Uyanwatte Grounds.

After winning the toss, Gurukula College opted to bat first, but they were restricted to a modest score of 182. Samiru Gimhan was the pick of the bowlers for St. Servatius College as he grabbed 3 wickets for 48 runs.

>>Piyumal, Galapitage star as St. Anthony’s claim thrilling win over Nalanda

In reply, St. Servatius’ College had a tough outing with the bat as they were bowled out for just 140 runs, handing a 42-run win for Gurukula College. Hiruna Nimsara was the star performer with the ball for Gurukula College, as he snared 3 scalps for 25 runs.

Mahinda College defeated Dharmasoka College by 53 runs in their Tier B encounter worked off today at UC Grounds in Ambalangoda.

Jithira Sansika’s brilliant spell helped Dharmasoka College restrict the strong batting lineup of Mahinda College for 146 runs. Sansika picked up 6 wickets for 26 runs in his 4.5-over spell.

>>Supun Waduge, Janith Ravishka star in Trinitians massive win

In reply, the Sokians posted only 93 runs for 8 wickets as Sri Lanka U19 cap Dinura Kalupahana bowled an outstanding spell, picking up 4 wickets for 21 runs.

Brief Scores

Gurukula College – 182 (48.5) Seneshka Nethsara 35, Didula Eshan 32*, Sineth Dewapriya 26, Samiru Gimhan 3/48, Viran Chamuditha 2/19, Praveen Madusanka 2/39

St. Servatius’ College – 140 (47.3) Vishwa Supun 31, Mithila Charles 30, Diniru Abeywickramasinghe 26, Hiruna Nimsara 3/25, Poorna Kalhara 2/27

Result – Gurukula College won by 42 runs

Mahinda College – 146 (28.5) Hareen Achintha 39, Chandupa De Silva 30, Pramesh Madhubhashana 25, Jithira Sansika 6/26, Ishan Anuradha 2/21

Dharmasoka College – 93/8 (29) Senura Sandayuru 28, Jithira Sansika 21*, Dinura Kalupahana 4/21, Kaveen Rukshan 2/18  

Result – Mahinda College won by 53 runs